The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache Security/Version Table

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by zappz, Feb 14, 2004.

  1. zappz

    zappz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    Just checking over my system this morning and find that in WHM the Apache Security/Version Table only shows the Apache Core status and padlock. Everything else that was in the table has now disappeared.

    Does anyone have any ideas why this should happen?

    Regards
     
  2. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Check /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf for the following lines:
    ServerTokens ProductOnly
    ServerSignature Off

    If they're there then you won't be able to see the info in WHM.
     
  3. zappz

    zappz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I actually thought I had commented those out already but on checking httpd.conf again they were still active.

    After a httpd restart everything is back to normal.

    Thanks for the assistance.
     
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    No problem. If you want to hide that information from baddies, try Juanra's mod_server_tokens at html.conclase.net/cp/scripts
     
  5. zappz

    zappz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yeah, I hate baddies. Thanks for the info.
     
  6. Nodnarb

    Nodnarb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do you have any suggestions on what to do if you have commented those lines out of httpd.conf, restarted, rebooted, and the Version Table still doesn't show?

    OH! And, Apache Status just shows a blank/white screen when you click on that from WHM/Server Status. I'm on 8.8.0 Stable with RHEL...
     
    #6 Nodnarb, Feb 14, 2004
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2004
  7. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Simple thought, however have you tried restarting apache?
     
  8. Nodnarb

    Nodnarb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yup - even rebooted the whole machine... :confused:
     
  9. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Strange, that happens to me occasionally, however a simple restart of apache usually fixes it.
     
  10. Nodnarb

    Nodnarb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Found out from Cpanel support (excellent response time!!) that the mod_security Apache module running on my box is interfering with the WHM Apache reporting. :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page