The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache, SIGPWR and cpanellogd

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by MarlboroMan, Mar 3, 2003.

  1. MarlboroMan

    MarlboroMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just wanted to post this real quick - as I've seen it on two different servers.

    In some situations (I haven't figured out which yet), Apache seems to die at random intervals with absolutely NO logging to the error files as to why. After spending some time working on this, it was determined that Apache was receiving a SIGPWR signal, which is normally reserved for signalling a power loss to the server, and causes Apache to immediately shut down. After a long period of trial and error, we found that killing cpanellogd and preventing it from ever running again (chmod and chattr style) meant Apache never got a SIGPWR

    Why does cpanellogd send SIGPWR signals?
     
  2. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    who should I make the check out to? This issue has just about put me out of business in the last few weeks. I had my biggest reseller leave and move to another cpanel host. well it hapened to him there.

    nothing in the logs ..apache just hangs on me.
     
  3. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    how did you figure this out anyway?
     
  4. MarlboroMan

    MarlboroMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    strace -f /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd startssl

    <wait for apache to crash again>
    Read the last screen of strace to see what causes the crash

    ::edit::

    strace -f -e trace=signal /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd startssl

    That'll only track actual signals sent/received by apache and it's children, will cut down on screen flyby.

    ::/edit::
     
    #4 MarlboroMan, Mar 4, 2003
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2003
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Actually its the killall command that sends it

    RedHat 7.3 has a broken psmisc.

    killall -USR1 will actually send SIGPWR

    Make sure you have psmisc-20.2-3.73+

    /scripts/rpmup should upgrade you
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  7. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
  8. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    How can I find out what version of psmisc I am running?
     
  9. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    rpm -q psmisc
     
  10. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
  11. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nick,

    We were having really awful problems with apache not restarting when hit with USR1. Upgrading this RPM solved it, however doing rpmup did not update it.

    Just so you know, in case you see this elsewhere...upgrading this package is the key to fixing the problem with apache crashing every time an account is created or deleted. At least it was for us.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Which version did you upgrade too?? We currently have psmisc-20.2-3.73 on a RH 7.3

    We are planning on updating our Cpanel/WHM this weekend, along with some other upgrades to avoid interruptions to our customers... and we will be upgrading Apache too.

    Is this the current version we should have or do I need to upgrade the psmisc RPM also, and if so, where did you obtain the RPM ??

    Thx's

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  14. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    thx's for the info, appreciate it ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Quick question, did you have to remove your existing RPM before installing ?? If so, the best way to remove??.. rpm -e ... ?

    thx's

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You could do:
    Code:
    rpm -Uvh [filename]
    That will auto-upgrade the rpm without having to remove the older version, if any exists.
     
    #16 goodmove, Jul 23, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2003
  17. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    tried that and all I get is the message:
    Code:
    package psmisc-20.2-3.73 is already installed
    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can query the rpm database and find out if it's installed and which version:
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep psmisc
    If you've got psmisc-20.2-3.73 you're in luck. ;)

    [-qa = query all]
     
    #18 goodmove, Jul 23, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2003
  19. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No, just do a -Uvh on it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page