The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache SpamAssassin Settings

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Nisa51, Jun 24, 2014.

  1. Nisa51

    Nisa51 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I dearly hope someone can help me with an issue I am having the Spam Emails.

    Firstly I have to access CPanel with my webmail to access my mail. Also I have Box Trapper enabled but I do not have a SpamAssassin Icon to click but I do know this is enabled in the Box Trapper as per these images

    /http://i.imgur.com/ihRirJ4.png
    /http://i.imgur.com/g3Lzm0Q.png

    The problem I am getting is spam mail in the queque box I will get around 3 or 4 emails a day from the same people but they change the domain email I keep blacklisting them and blacklisting subject heading but they keep changing that two. There are emails from

    Satellite Internet
    Repalcement Windows
    Walk-in Tubs
    Doctorate Degree

    These are the main culprits.

    The setting in the SpamAssassin box is the default one but I have no idea really what setting I should be putting in there. Can anyone help me please much appreciated.:)
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Have you considered utilizing an account level filter? You can configure one using the "Account Level Filtering" option in cPanel so that it blocks messages based on specific text patterns.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Nisa51

    Nisa51 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm not sure where that is Michael
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. Nisa51

    Nisa51 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry I'm a bit lost here when I login into Cpanel I get this

    [removed]

    Do you mean the email filtering?
     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please avoid linking to other sites for screenshots or log excerpts. You can add a screenshot as an attachment to your forum post.

    The screenshot showed you logged into Webmail, not cPanel. To see the "Account Level Filtering" option, you need to log into cPanel instead. That means using one of these URLs:

    • /https://ip:2083
    • /https://domain:2083
    • /https://ip or domain/cpanel

    instead of:

    • /https://ip:2096
    • /https://domain:2096
    • /https://ip or domain/webmail

    Because Account Level Filtering works on the whole cPanel account, it is not listed in Webmail, because Webmail options only affect a single mailbox user.

    I have attached a screenshot that shows what the Account Level Filtering icon looks like. You will only see it in cPanel, not in the Webmail interface.

    Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 12.37.06 PM.png

    The "Email Filters" icon in Webmail is for user-level filters, not account-level filters.

    It may help you to think of Webmail and cPanel as completely separate interfaces, and the screenshot showed you logged into the Webmail interface, not the cPanel interface that Michael mentioned.

    If all you have is a mailbox username and password, and you do not have the username and password to log into cPanel, you will not have access to Account Level Filters and you will need to ask the person who does, to help you.
     
  7. Nisa51

    Nisa51 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you so much Jared I found my CPanel login I had totally forgot about that.
    I got Spam Assassin enabled
    Done some filtering.
    so hopefully all will be ok.

    And I apologise sincerely for posting a link to an image. My wrists have been smacked.
     
  8. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's not a problem at all to post an image; we just prefer that you include it as an attachment, instead of as a link. That also helps people in the future who may be using a search engine to look for help, and might happen to see your post.

    I am glad I was able to help point you in the right direction for the filter configuration.
     
Loading...

Share This Page