The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache Status and HTTP Requests of "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0"

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by DReade83, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. DReade83

    DReade83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0 is appearing an awful lot under Apache Status, so far 30+ times since Apache's last restart a few days ago.

    Any idea what could be causing this and how to stop it?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Me too, any takers?

    Seems to be coming from the local system.
     
  3. Greg007

    Greg007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I see this OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0 coming from localhost too.
    It appears with interval from 1 to 15 sec.
     
  4. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    The "OPTIONS" request method (like GET, POST, and HEAD) is normal to see; this is one method used by the service monitoring features to check if Apache is online and responsive.

    Please note that not all of the listed HTTP activity from the Apache status page in WHM are for active requests. To determine if the request is active at the time of checking status, look at the columns labeled as follows: PID, M

    If "PID" is empty, i.e., if there is no current PID, the child process that handled the request already completed and exited.
    If "M" or Mode of operation is just a period "." then the slot is open without a current process.

    Quoted from the status page of Apache v2.2, here is additional detail describing other modes, followed by a description of the columns displayed:
    Code:
    Scoreboard Key:
    "_" Waiting for Connection, "S" Starting up, "R" Reading Request,
    "W" Sending Reply, "K" Keepalive (read), "D" DNS Lookup,
    "C" Closing connection, "L" Logging, "G" Gracefully finishing,
    "I" Idle cleanup of worker, "." Open slot with no current process
    
    Srv	Child Server number - generation
    PID	OS process ID
    Acc	Number of accesses this connection / this child / this slot
    M	Mode of operation
    CPU	CPU usage, number of seconds
    SS	Seconds since beginning of most recent request
    Req	Milliseconds required to process most recent request
    Conn	Kilobytes transferred this connection
    Child	Megabytes transferred this child
    Slot	Total megabytes transferred this slot
     
  5. discovery

    discovery Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Apache Server Status

    I'm not sure if it's related to last update, but the Apache status server has a lot of (maybe 50) lines like those:

    41-36 - 0/0/408 . 0.00 14537 0 0.0 0.00 0.36 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    42-36 - 0/0/390 . 0.00 14537 0 0.0 0.00 0.31 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    43-36 - 0/0/392 . 0.44 14512 0 0.0 0.00 0.17 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    44-36 - 0/0/193 . 0.00 14535 0 0.0 0.00 0.18 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    45-36 - 0/0/89 . 0.19 14514 0 0.0 0.00 0.02 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    46-36 - 0/0/34 . 0.00 14535 0 0.0 0.00 0.00 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    47-36 - 0/0/214 . 0.00 14497 0 0.0 0.00 0.08 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    48-36 - 0/0/69 . 0.36 14479 0 0.0 0.00 0.00 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    49-23 - 0/0/221 . 7.90 92944 0 0.0 0.00 0.40 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    50-23 - 0/0/13 . 0.00 93659 0 0.0 0.00 0.00 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    51-23 - 0/0/21 . 0.39 93618 0 0.0 0.00 0.00 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    52-23 - 0/0/34 . 1.53 93574 0 0.0 0.00 0.02 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    53-23 - 0/0/22 . 2.08 93540 0 0.0 0.00 0.01 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    54-23 - 0/0/2 . 0.00 93655 0 0.0 0.00 0.00 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    55-23 - 0/0/2 . 0.15 93641 0 0.0 0.00 0.00 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    56-23 - 0/0/1 . 0.00 93658 0 0.0 0.00 0.00 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    57-23 - 0/0/3 . 0.36 93622 0 0.0 0.00 0.00 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    58-23 - 0/0/38 . 0.86 93507 0 0.0 0.00 0.11 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0
    59-23 - 0/0/53 . 3.26 93322 0 0.0 0.00 0.12 127.0.0.1 xxxxx.xxxxx.com OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0

    I saw them first time about 2weeks ago
    Is there a Apache problem? I'm very sure was not there before, I used to check that 2, 3 times a week at least.
    I recompiled apache like one month ago, but just to update the php

    any ideas plsss?

    Later update: I can narrow a little bit: actually those lines appears since I had a period of very very slow WHM loading; sometimes took even 2 min to load; the server load was minimal in that time, sites, ssh an others was normal, under 2%load
    The WHM slow load automagically disappeared like one week ago
     
    #5 discovery, Nov 27, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2009
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  7. discovery

    discovery Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    so until 2, 3 weeks ago my server was not functioning normal?

    cause those lines are new, didn't saw them in the first 12month
     
  8. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Re: Apache Server Status "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0"

    The quoted status information is indicative that Apache is actively being monitored to check if it is online or not; having recompiled or upgraded Apache this is a likely reason why there may have been a change in the verbose status information and how Apache is being monitored to account for what is supported by the installed version of Apache.

    Via the Apache status information seeing the string "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" is normal and alone it is not directly indicative of whether or not the overall system or server itself is functioning normally.

    For further clarification please reference the official RFC that defines the HTTP request method named OPTIONS, located in Section 9.2 of RFC 2616:
    RFC 2616 - Hypertext Transfer Protocol -- HTTP/1.1
     
  9. discovery

    discovery Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok, I'll read those

    thank you all.
     
  10. yayyo

    yayyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    re: Apache Status and HTTP Requests of "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0"

    Hi Don (are you the "veteran" that was mentioned in News - cPanel Inc. ? :) well at least they didn't say "antique" ;) )

    Re: OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0 - I read the RFC, but I guess my questions would be: what is actually doing those requests, and do they really need to be doing it approximately every second?

    # tail -f /usr/local/apache/logs/access_log
    127.0.0.1 - - [29/Nov/2009:22:38:23 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [29/Nov/2009:22:38:24 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [29/Nov/2009:22:38:25 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [29/Nov/2009:22:38:26 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [29/Nov/2009:22:38:27 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [29/Nov/2009:22:38:28 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [29/Nov/2009:22:38:29 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [29/Nov/2009:22:38:30 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [29/Nov/2009:22:38:31 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [29/Nov/2009:22:38:32 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [29/Nov/2009:22:38:33 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    ...

    I tried switching off http monitoring in Main >> Service Configuration >> Service Manager to no effect.

    Any further enlightenment you can offer would be much appreciated.
    Cheers from the UK,
    Marty
     
  11. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    After researching further I must clarify and correct part of my earlier statements.
    While the above can be true for general Apache/httpd service monitoring methods, our specific monitoring via the ChkServd driver of TailWatchd uses an HTTP request method of GET (instead of OPTIONS) as shown below.

    Upon performing a fresh test, using a freshly-compiled build of Apache version 2.2, I verified that our monitoring uses a slightly different HTTP request such as that seen in the following log entry, but it should only be one request per status check and not a flood every second.
    Code:
    # grep "^127.0.0.1.*GET / HTTP/1.0" /usr/local/apache/logs/access_log | tail -n1
    127.0.0.1 - - [02/Dec/2009:00:07:36 -0600] "GET / HTTP/1.0" 200 111
    For comparison, when checking the Apache Status via WHM the log entry may appear similar to the following:
    Code:
    # grep "^127.0.0.1.*GET /whm-server-status/ HTTP/1.0" /usr/local/apache/logs/access_log | tail -n1
    127.0.0.1 - - [02/Dec/2009:00:05:02 -0600] "GET /whm-server-status HTTP/1.0" 200 10514

    Example of log entry from referenced status information, where OPTIONS is used:
    Code:
    # grep "^127.0.0.1.*OPTIONS \* HTTP/1.0" /usr/local/apache/logs/access_log | tail -n1
    127.0.0.1 - - [02/Dec/2009:00:02:00 -0600] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    To correct and clarify to the best of my knowledge, per the Apache documentation wiki this is most likely a direct result from Apache/httpd handling its own child processes and is safe to ignore. For a more detailed description I recommend referring to the following Apache httpd wiki article:
    InternalDummyConnection - Apache httpd Wiki

    Here is an earlier forums post that provides an on-target explanation with additional information:
    cPanel Forums - View Single Post - apache load
     
Loading...

Share This Page