The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apache status timeouts

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by alexmack, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. alexmack

    alexmack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having daily load spikes of 200-300+. I'm trying to view apache status to see what's responsible, but it times loads with "unable to retrieve status" during those times.

    how can i figure out what's causing this?
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel saves the output of "top" under the directory /var/log/dcpumon/, see if you are able to trace anything from those files. Other than that you have to check at the time the server is overloaded.
     
  3. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Execute the following commands and paste the output here:

    These 2 commands will give you an idea which account is overloading the server.

    BTW, I did replied to this thread earlier, not sure if it's deleted...
     
  4. alexmack

    alexmack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    here are the results, but like i said, i have no idea what requests are causing this spike that aren't there regularly
     
  5. rackaid

    rackaid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Are you running a database driven application? Sometimes I see databases become bogged down. As a result, the apache processes begin to build up.

    You will want to have sysstat installed so you can track various performance metrics and then if you can catch the system during high load, check the apache logs, server-status (may take a few tries), and mysql status. You can then being to build a picture of what is happening.
     
  6. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    As you can see from the output, all the processes are running as 'nobody' and if you have multiple domains on your server, it is difficult to track the exact account. I would have enabled SuPHP on the server which then force php processes to run under their own users and make it easy to trace such issues.

    BTW, if you have only a few domains on the server, see if any domain is having a CMS and whether any plugin OR mod was enabled on it recently.

    And one more thing, the WHM >> Apache Status will give you an idea as well. Try that option.
     
    #6 madaboutlinux, Jul 23, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2010
  7. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Your load averages makes me want to cry :(

    Going of those spawns you should seriously look at enabling keep_alive , This would kill half of those spawns.

    But... Buy the look of those outputs it could be manu things.....
     
Loading...

Share This Page