Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Apache Symlink Protection False positive?

Discussion in 'Security' started by Skin, Jun 6, 2018.

  1. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello, on my new VPS ( mochahost cPanel v70.0.48) In Home »Security Center »Security Advisor I can see this message:

    I asked to my provider, if possible, to enable KernelCare Free Symlink Protection, because I would not use bluehost patch, but after that I now see this message in Security Center »Security Advisor :

    So is this a false positive?

    Can you please tel me how to check if KernelCare Free Symlink Protection is really enabled?
     
    #1 Skin, Jun 6, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 6, 2018
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Skin

    Can you please run the following via SSH on your server?


    Code:
    kcarectl --patch-info
    
    Code:
    uname -r
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello, here is the result:

    Code:
    root@vps [~]# kcarectl --patch-info
    -bash: kcarectl: command not found
    root@vps [~]# uname -r
    2.6.32-042stab128.2
    
    Thanks

    P.S is an OpenVZ VPS
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,


    In that case you can request that your provider give you the output. The command needs to be run on the host node as it'd be the only way to determine if it's actually protected.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice