The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apache troubble

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by -vn-, May 8, 2006.

  1. -vn-

    -vn- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I accidentally deleted /usr/local/apache/ (whoops) I then preformed a /scripts/easyapache to restore the files. Then I restored a backup of the httpd.conf file that the server made the night before. But now I can't get apache to start up again. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Its difficult to help when we are unable to see the config file ourselves. More than likely something on your server has changed since then e.g. an account has been possibly removed? And therefore Apache cannot function correctly. The only thing you can really do is go through all your VirtualHost entries and check them with the accounts on your server, then remove/add as necesarry.

    Chris
     
  3. -vn-

    -vn- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, after I completed those changes, I got some other errors. I fixed them. but now when I run ./httpd configtest it turns up nothing. however a httpd reset from whm results in:

    any suggestions?

    Thanks Again
     
  4. panayot

    panayot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    tail -100 /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
     
  5. -vn-

    -vn- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i had recently deleted that file as well. however information above is after about re-installing apache about 10 times.
     
  6. panayot

    panayot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It looks like it's working. But there is something wrong with the virtual hosts perhaps. Because it seems strange to me that apache is looking for a forum in the default htdocs folder. When opening websites, do they time out, or you get a 404 for all of them? If virtual hosts missing, try another version of the backup file. I had grate success once restoring httpd.conf. you should have a different httpd.conf version for every change that was made to the file.
     
  7. -vn-

    -vn- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    They time out. and the virtual hosts are there. I checked multiple times. I will check again is there any way to have cpanel resotre the virtual hosts information?

    Thanks for the help

    -VN-
     
  8. -vn-

    -vn- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    could it be that there are files missing from /usr/local/apache/conf/scripts ?

    Thanks
    VN
     
  9. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    I'll be really surprised, SSH to your server and make sure the directory /usr/local/apache/ has been re-cretaed. You removed Apache conf files, major binary packegs, modules, and source files. BTW, there is no directory: /usr/local/apache/conf/scripts
     
  10. -vn-

    -vn- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It was re created when I did a /scripts/easyapache

    I ment /usr/local/apache/conf/sites
     
  11. panayot

    panayot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've never seen /usr/local/apache/conf/sites either

    Have you been using Apache2 or something?
     
  12. -vn-

    -vn- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    no, apache is 1.3.34

    this is new:

    Thanks
    -VN-
    error_log update
     
    #12 -vn-, May 9, 2006
    Last edited: May 9, 2006
  13. -vn-

    -vn- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have fixed this thanks for the help everyone. the problem was with php.ini
     
    #13 -vn-, May 10, 2006
    Last edited: May 10, 2006
  14. swapnil_mankar1

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    what was the proble,

    Can you please provide us what changes you have made in php.ini
    we are facing same problem
     
Loading...

Share This Page