The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apache update problem

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by poops, May 9, 2006.

  1. poops

    poops Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when i try to update apache from Whm.
    it gives following error...



    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd could not be started

    Attempting to restart httpd

    Waiting for httpd to restart....
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    finished.




    and in the end apache failed..
    sir tell me where is problem... how to fix it.
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    I suggest you to update apache from shell. Login to server as root and execute the following script :-
    ]# /scripts/easyapache
    Select 5th option and wait till the execution completes.

    You may get the error, "httpd failed. Contact sysadmin." In this case just do the following :-
    service httpd stop
    service httpd start

    If apache won't start, execute the command :-
    service httpd configtest
    and paste the output.
     
  3. poops

    poops Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    this is the error which i've faced

    Syntax error on line 149 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    module access_module is built-in and can't be loaded
     
  4. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    I haven't had faced such an issue before but just give it a try.

    Login to server and try the following :-
    cd /usr/local/apache/conf/
    mv httpd.conf httpd.conf.bak
    and then update apache with the steps given in the previous post.

    If you face any major problems with this solution, do the following and you will be back to your current state and will have to search for another solution :-
    cd /usr/local/apache/conf/
    rm -f httpd.conf
    mv httpd.conf.bak httpd.conf

    IMP :- Do remember to take the backup of your current httpd.conf file.
     
  5. poops

    poops Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -

    thank you thank you thank you so much sir,

    your provided method solve my problem

    sir thanx
     
  6. Indyhouse

    Indyhouse Registered

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried this fix, and, YAY, apache restarted... but now all my websites have the default "There is no website configured at this address" message.

    How do I get my sites back?


    EDIT: Oh, and, another thing... in WHM, there are no more accounts set up. At all.
     
    #6 Indyhouse, Jul 10, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2006
  7. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    What were the errors you have received before trying the above steps ? Have you created the backup of the httpd.conf file before making the changes ?

    Check the VirtualHost entry for the domains in httpd.conf file. Also what exactly you mean by "in WHM, there are no more accounts set up. At all." ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page