The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache Version Upgrade

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by aryapsh, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. aryapsh

    aryapsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Already I Have Installed Apache1.3.37 How Can I Upgrade It To Lastest Version?
     
  2. outlaw web

    outlaw web Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hmm

    i'm pretty sure that is the latest version buddy.

    there is version 2 stuff out...but i'd recommend staying with the 1.3 series as cpanel is going down that road.

    owm
     
  3. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Why stay with 1.3??? Especially now that CPanel officially supports it!

    Lots of people have great success with Apache 2, even before it was supported by CPanel, and it offers many new features and benefits over Apache 1.
     
  4. aryapsh

    aryapsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ok but how can i upgrade it?
     
  5. wefrank

    wefrank Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Massachusetts
  6. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As your CPanel is upcp'd, you will have more options to install through WHM. I am on CURRENT. I don't know what tree or version you are on.

    In WHM, you can choose Update Apache and Apache2 will be there (depending again on your CPanel Version. I think you would need to be on edge to have it at the moment. Wait a few days and it will be available with Current).
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Currently it's only on EDGE. Once the QA team is comfortable that it meets our quality standards, only then will it begin to gradually move into the production-worthy builds (CURRENT, RELEASE and eventually STABLE)
     
  8. DReade83

    DReade83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Oh god!! Please tell me that doesn't mean it's going to be delayed again! We're meant to be seeing Apache 2.x in the CURRENT build tomorrow (17th July 2007).
     
  9. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aryapsh and DReade83, forget what everyone has said in this thread! :eek:

    Apache 2.0 and 2.2 works perfectly fine with Cpanel and it is very easy to upgrade
    and I solved all the bugs, hiccups, and problems well more than a year ago so
    that everything runs 100% perfectly flawless and smooth as butter and kind of says
    just how far behind the Cpanel development team is in playing catch up a bit.

    I've personally upgraded most everyone around here who has already gone
    to Apache 2 (and without the headaches) and many of those people can tell you
    first hand what I did for them because a lot of them are still floating around here.

    I currently run Apache 2 exclusively across my entire hosting network on all my
    hosting brands and have been running it in full production use for well more than
    a year on hundreds of servers with no notable problems all with Cpanel!

    If either you need help upgrading to Apache 2 now, feel free to contact me!
     
  10. AtlantisService

    AtlantisService Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    :eek: You've got to be kidding, right? Everyone is waiting for it to happen on 07/17/2007. We thought it best to WAIT for this update, before releasing our new Apple Servers. Normally we wouldn't wait for anyone, but as Cpanel is using more then 1/2 of our computer systems.... Plesk maybe more costly, but its something we're going to be looking more into.

    Apache is one of the "core" systems and v2 has been out for so long, that we've seen alpha builds of v3. What are you guys "really" waiting for?
     
  11. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I agree. Apache 2.0-stable was released over 5 years ago!!!
     
  12. Abbas

    Abbas Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There is a current build posted today. Is this based on Stage 2?
    Also where can I find Apache2

    -a
     
  13. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just updated my test server to CURRENT, no EasyApache 3 yet so I assume there may be some issues that still need working on by the Dev and QA folks. After all, as much as we *all* want Apache 2 support at this time, we'd much rather not break servers in the process.
     
  14. CoreISP.net

    CoreISP.net Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Now I'm running EDGE, so my server already has the easyapache script that support it, but... I dont really understand the complaints here,
    would you rather have it take a bit more time so that the team can make sure your apache server doesnt break, or do you rather have a buggy version released? :-X

    Sure I can understand the frustration,
    but a broken apache server gives even more frustration in my humble opinion.
     
  15. AtlantisService

    AtlantisService Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've upgraded on of our VPS Servers to EDGE. It seems as stable as the current build. We're stress testing it now and are "thinking" of turning off auto update if we find it stable enough. Once that has passed, we may "chance" using it on a few other places (with caution). From there we'll wait until the CURRENT build fits are needs once more.
     
Loading...

Share This Page