The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apache won't compile

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by dmer, Jul 21, 2004.

  1. dmer

    dmer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i tried to compile apache .. and on the end gives me this error
    finished.


    httpd status


    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
    Build Complete
    --
    what should i do ?
     
  2. dmer

    dmer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    and when i try manually
    Attempting to restart httpd
    Waiting for httpd to restart.... . . . . . . . . . . finished.

    httpd status root 48453 0.0 0.6 10348 9872 ?? S 3:04PM 0:00.07 /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/whostmgr ./reshttpd




    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
     
  3. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    check the apache error_log for any errors, check the httpd.conf for any errors
    service httpd configtest at the shell prompt

    Mickalo
     
  4. dmer

    dmer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Building Apache Config.....Done
    Downloading and compiling apache+modules....


    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing buildapache.......................................................................................................
    Verifying compiler and libs....Updating /scripts...Done
    Verifying installation....Done
    Done
    ********************************
    This is buildapache version 9.4.1a
    ********************************
    buildapache configured from Web Host Manager
    Apache configured from Web Host Manager!
    Untarring expat...Unable to fetch expat-1.95.6.tar.gz
    Attempting to restart httpd
    Waiting for httpd to restart....
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    finished.


    httpd status


    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
    Build Complete


    --
    can't find where httpd.conf is .. where does cpanel keeps it ?
    well this is when i try to update apache ..
    and /usr/local/apache doesn't exist ..
    should i install a port of apache then recompile .. ? im using freebsd 4.9
     
  5. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    httpd.conf should be located at /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
     
  6. bensie

    bensie Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having the EXACT same problem on FreeBSD 4.9. Anyone know any fixes?!? Please help!
     
  7. good13

    good13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've just installed WHM and have same problem.

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd: line 89: /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd: No such file or directory
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd could not be started

    I've tried easyapache script but it can't compile apache.
     
  8. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Please be more specific... What errors you get during easy apache.
    Also what does the error log says. Also does the configtest gives any errors so that others will be able to help you.
    The apache may fail due to many reasons and without having specific error message or having a check others may not be able to help you more.
     
  9. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yes.. Aby is correct,, you need to check you logs at /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log

    open two simultaneous shells on the problem server and give these commands :
    Shell 1 :
    Code:
    ]# tail -f /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
    Shell 2
    Code:
    ]# /etc/init.d/httpd start
     
  10. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I ran into the same problem when using EasyApache, and found out you must use at least v4.4.x of PHP. Use any version of 4.3 and it would fail.

    Could be related to the fact of also using MySQL v4.1.x.
     
  11. Domenico

    Domenico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    The problem is that "wget" and "fetch" are either not installed or a outside of the usuall locations:

    12859 stat64("/usr/bin/wget", 0x811bc40) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
    12859 stat64("/usr/local/bin/wget", 0x811bc40) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
    12859 stat64("/usr/bin/fetch", 0x811bc40) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
    12859 stat64("/usr/local/bin/fetch", 0x811bc40) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
    12859 stat64("/bin/fetch", 0x811bc40) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
    12859 exit_group(0) = ?

    If you have wget here -> /root/bin/wget or somewhere else, you may want to symlink it to /usr/bin/wget while you run the apache update scripts so it can work normally.

    This worked for us and it might work for you! :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page