The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache Won't Start - No Errors

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by AJStiles, Sep 11, 2006.

  1. AJStiles

    AJStiles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.2-R119
    RedHat 7.3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    Apache won't start on my box and I can't find any errors relating to the problem.

    /usr/local/bin/apachectl configtest gives my "Syntax OK"
    /usr/local/bin/apachectl start gives me "httpd started"
    /usr/local/bin/apachectl restart gives me "httpd not running, trying to start" "httpd started"

    However, it isn't started, no processes found, no errors in error_log.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Manuel_accu

    Manuel_accu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi,

    What it is showing in /var/log/messages when you start or restart apache?

    thx
     
  3. AJStiles

    AJStiles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nothing is written to /var/log/messages when I attempt to start (or restart) apache.
     
  4. AJStiles

    AJStiles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    As noted in the original post, configtest returns "Syntax OK".

    Laus is not installed. "error: package laus is not installed".

    Thanks for trying.

    Adam
     
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    check the validity of httpd.conf syntax:
    /sbin/service httpd configtest
    You also need to make sure that laus is not installed on your server:
    rpm -e laus
     
  6. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    There must be something stopping or blocking Apache, could be a corrupted module and/or a library.
     
  7. moogle

    moogle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Does it allow you to run the Apache update in WHM?
     
  8. AJStiles

    AJStiles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes - I can do a full rebuild using WHM or /script/easyapache.

    Here's the end result:

    Code:
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd started
    Attempting to restart httpd 	
    Waiting for httpd to restart....
    .
    finished.
    httpd status
    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
     
  9. neonix

    neonix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Did you install Zend?..I had a similar problem and Zend was the culprit..,
     
  10. AJStiles

    AJStiles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No zend. I tried installing it, that didn't help either. Commented it out in php.ini, attempted to start Apache. No dice.
     
  11. moogle

    moogle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Long shot, but did you try rebooting?

    I know sometimes when this comes up rebooting kills off whatever the problem was and allows apache to start again.
     
  12. bhd

    bhd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    JNB ZA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We had exactly the same problem on a RHE server. I looked everywhere, every log file I could find and nothing was out of the ordinary.

    Eventually we fixed it by running easyapache with the advanced (7) option and checked the "download modules even if they are up to date" and all was fine.
     
  13. AJStiles

    AJStiles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Rebooting took care of it... should have tried that earlier. I wish I knew what the problem was though. Thanks for you help all.

    Adam
     
  14. Stephanie_R

    Stephanie_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That quite often happens when apache has stale PID's or a socket is still open.

    Even when ps -ef|grep httpd shows no processes the socket can still be held open.

    /etd/init.d/httpd stop
    killall httpd (till no process killed)
    /etc/init.d/httpd startssl


    If the server has resin installed you should also check in /tmp for a file named:
    localhost_6802 and remove it.

    Just a couple of ideas, but you may have already tried these at the time.
     
  15. beehave

    beehave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you ever find a soloution to this? I have two servers doing the same thing about once a week. The only wway to get httpd back up is to reboot server. None of the above work.
     
  16. adinet

    adinet Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Had the same problem, this worked for me :) thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page