The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache won't start ... no reason?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by bpat1434, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. bpat1434

    bpat1434 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    I am running WHM 11 (EDGE) with cPanel 11 (EDGE). I tried to upgrade to Apache 2.2 via the new EasyApache 2.0.2 script, and that never worked. Kept showing errors. So I manually SSH'd into my server, and deleted the Apache_2.2 folders, and tried to re-install Apache 1.3.3.7

    At this point, it gets to the end, starts apache successfully, then attempts to restart it, and it fails. In the error log, all I see is a "SIGTERM" event being sent. Nothing else.

    So when I try to manually start it, I keep getting httpd.conf errors like
    Invalid command '<insert command>', perhaps mis-spelled or defined by a module not included

    Typically these errors are SSL errors. Nothing seems to work. I've tried reconfiguring numerous times, but it's getting annoying.

    Any ideas or pointers? Thanks!!
     
    #1 bpat1434, Apr 26, 2007
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2007
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    This issue has been discussed many times:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=64604
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=55006
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=54544
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=53989
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=36100
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=44255

    If none of these help, you can seek professional help.
     
  3. bpat1434

    bpat1434 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    Thanks for the links. When I searched, nothing that relevant came up.

    I got it sorted. Had to completely delete my httpd.conf* files and then reinstall apache.
     
  4. bpat1434

    bpat1434 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    Okay, well I ended up commenting out the SSL lines... So I went to upgrade to Apache 2.x today and after it builds, I get the following:
    Keep hitting walls.... any ideas?
     
  5. bpat1434

    bpat1434 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    For whatever reason it shows me as replying before you, when really I did after you posted... so just posting to show update.

    But after making apache 2.2 and installing, I get the following error:
     
  6. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's ridiculously easy to fix and I can take care of that in about 2 seconds.

    Basically, you need to comment out some of the modules and corresponding commands
    before the Apache upgrade process. Also, EasyApache has a known bug and mistypes
    a couple of commands and puts "Server" where it should be "Thread" in a few places.
     
  7. bpat1434

    bpat1434 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    Okay, so to update this. I tried again using /scripts/easyapache and it goes past the zzip configuration, and shows the following:
    Not sure what's going on. Or even how to fix it to get Apache 2.2 running.... any ideas?

    File.pm
    Code:
    sub Digest::MD5::adddir {
        my $md5  = shift;
        my $base = shift;
        for( keys %{ _dir($base, undef, undef, 3) }) {
            next if !$_;
            my $file = File::Spec->catfile($base, $_);
            $md5->addpath($file) or carp "addpath $file failed: $!" if !-d $file;
        }
        return 1;
    }
    
    Line 77 is the for( keys %{ _dir($base, undef, undef, 3) }) {
    Any ideas?
     
    #7 bpat1434, Apr 27, 2007
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2007
  8. bpat1434

    bpat1434 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    Okay, seems that i've got Apache 2.2 working, but I'll have to see if I can get suPHP running under 2.2. From what I've read around here, I won't be able to. So we'll see. I may just go back down to 2.0*

    EDIT
    Okay, so after trying to install apache 2.0 at the end of everything, I get the following:
    Code:
    edit_httpdconf has been removed from cPanelFunctions, please use ApacheLib at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/cPanelFunctions.pm line 102
            Cpanel::cPanelFunctions::edit_httpdconf('CODE(0x95e5440)') called at /home/cpeasyapache/work/cPanelEA/Apache2/YMod_suPHP__S.pm line 74
            cPanelEA::Apache2::YMod_suPHP__S::__ANON__('HASH(0x9439fcc)') called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/EasyApache.pm line 484
            Cpanel::EasyApache::__ANON__('Apache2::YMod_suPHP__S', 'HASH(0x9439fcc)', 1) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/EasyApache.pm line 1793
            Cpanel::EasyApache::build_apache_and_install_configuration('HASH(0x942e2c0)', 'HASH(0x9439fcc)') called at ./easyapache line 159
    So now I'm off to delete all apache directories, as well as empty out the easyapache cache... then we'll try this again
     
    #8 bpat1434, Apr 27, 2007
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2007
  9. glucz

    glucz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    edit_httpdconf has been removed from cPanelFunctions,

    Have you been able to solve this?

    I know of a solution which is to edit /home/cpeasyapache/work/cPanelEA/Apache2_2/YMod_suPHP__S.pm line 48 from
    Cpanel::cPanelFunctions::edit_httpdconf(
    to
    Cpanel::ApacheLib::edit_httpdconf(

    The problem is that after the next easyapache run it will copy the broken version on top of the edited one.

    Thanks
    GL
     
  10. bpat1434

    bpat1434 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    Actually, I ended up just reverting back to Apache 1.3.37 until EA3 comes out. Then I'll upgrade to Apache 2.
     
Loading...

Share This Page