The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache won't start with no errors when running configtest

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Jeff75, Dec 22, 2004.

  1. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Apache will not start on one of my servers. I had to make a change to the httpd.conf for a client then it just stopped working after I restarted Apache a second time. I deleted the rewrite script that I added and when I run configtest I get 0 errors (just a bunch of virtual host warnings and a segmentation fault).

    Can someone tell me what I need to do to figure out what the problem is? I also tried rebooting the entire server but it didn't help.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If apache is seg faulting with a clean httpd.conf, then you might want to try rebuilding apache. What exactly do you get in /etc/httpd/logs/error_log when you attempt to start httpd?
     
  3. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Jonathan,

    This is what I get when restarting Apache:

    Code:
    [Wed Dec 22 14:14:46 2004] [notice] Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/4.3.9 FrontPage/5.0.2.2634a mod_ssl/2.8.22 OpenSSL/0.9.7d configured -- resuming normal operations
    [Wed Dec 22 14:14:46 2004] [notice] suEXEC mechanism enabled (wrapper: /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec)
    [Wed Dec 22 14:14:46 2004] [notice] Accept mutex: flock (Default: flock)
    The solution to last nights problem was to run this: /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl startssl. For some reason clicking the Apache link in WHM would not start it as it needed "startssl". Any ideas why it won't start without using this method?

    Also, a month ago I was getting segmenatation fault errors after restarting and you had said it was because I was missing - in my su - root command. That fixed the problem then, but I thought I would mention this just in case. (i'm using - now)
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Have you setup an SSL site with a certificate recently? If so, then to restart apache you do need to use the following from now on:

    http start startssl

    Or the command that you quoted.
     
  5. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, there's a few SSL sites on the server. Wouldn't it start the regular http (not https) if I just typed restart instead of restartssl? It's weird that it just started doing this.

    Do you know how to fix the link to restart Apache in WHM so it won't say it failed each time?
     
Loading...

Share This Page