Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

apache wont start

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by netnameus, Apr 1, 2005.

  1. netnameus

    netnameus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Apache will not start... I keep trying to restart it, rebuild apache, etc, but it WILL NOT start.

    This is the output when I try and restart it
    I'm stumpted at that point, so if someone could help me out, any suggestions, would be great!!

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. nsz

    nsz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Add an SSL recently? I've seen corrupt cert bomb apache before.
     
  3. netnameus

    netnameus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Not "recently", a long while ago and it has been working fine for at least 2 months
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. nsz

    nsz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Okay. Can you view your apache logs and see and more detailed error than what WHM is telling you?
     
  5. netnameus

    netnameus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    root@localhost [/usr/local/apache/bin]# tail /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
    [Fri Apr 1 13:44:14 2005] [notice] child pid 17098 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Apr 1 13:44:17 2005] [notice] child pid 17102 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Apr 1 13:44:17 2005] [notice] child pid 17101 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Apr 1 13:44:21 2005] [notice] child pid 17104 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Apr 1 13:44:21 2005] [notice] child pid 17103 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Apr 1 13:44:21 2005] [notice] child pid 17100 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Apr 1 13:44:22 2005] [notice] child pid 17106 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Apr 1 13:44:22 2005] [notice] child pid 17105 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Apr 1 13:44:31 2005] [notice] child pid 17111 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Apr 1 13:44:31 2005] [notice] child pid 17110 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    root@localhost [/usr/local/apache/bin]#
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. nsz

    nsz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Yes, you are viewing it via SSH correct? You should have text in there. So it seems your httpd.conf is corrupt. I have not ran this before but you can try

    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
     
  7. netnameus

    netnameus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Sorry, stupid me was looking in httpd file instead of httpd.conf file...

    I can read httpd.conf
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. netnameus

    netnameus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Still tried this, but it didn't seem to help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. nsz

    nsz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    From searching around it appears to be PHP that would cause this issue (searching around the error on google). What version are you trying to compile? Also check to make sure there isn't any wrong version loaded in httpd.conf. For example 4 and 5 trying to load.
     
  10. netnameus

    netnameus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Dont know if this will help any

     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. netnameus

    netnameus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166

    php-4.3.10
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. netnameus

    netnameus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I just got it working.

    I ran the easyapache script with the most basic setting, and it's now working.

    Thanks for your suggestions!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. nsz

    nsz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Glad you got it sorted!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice