The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache won't start

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by JHC, Sep 23, 2006.

  1. JHC

    JHC Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I get this message at my main WHM page: Unable to obtain apache version information. Your apache server at xx.xx.xx.xxx may be down, or unreachable.

    And when I run

    /scripts/easyapache - I get this:

    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin

    And when I test apache (/etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd configtest) I am told 'SyntaxOK'

    I have contacted my sysadmin ... but I have a feeling they might tell me on my own because I have been bothering them too much lately...

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. dino_dimitri

    dino_dimitri Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    whats the error you are getting in the logs ?

    tail -f /etc/httpd/logs/error_logs

    and

    /var/log/messages

    will require the errors....
     
  3. dino_dimitri

    dino_dimitri Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yop can try the following :

    killall -e -9 httpd

    and restart httpd , sometimes the httpd process hungs.
     
  4. JHC

    JHC Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your reply...

    I did what you suggested and I get this error:
    root@vps [~]# tail -f /etc/httpd/logs/error_logs
    tail: cannot open `/etc/httpd/logs/error_logs' for reading: No such file or directory
    tail: no files remaining
    root@vps [~]# /var/log/messages-bash
    -bash: /var/log/messages: Permission denied


    I will try your second suggestion... will let you know.
     
  5. JHC

    JHC Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Fixed.

    It is working now.
    No errors.
    I didn't fix it thought my Admin did and didn't tell me what they did... but now I have other problems with cPanel (I will start a new thread for those).

    Thanks for your help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page