Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

./apachectl configtest

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by WeMasterz5, Mar 5, 2003.

  1. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Miami
    we have 7 sites on the server (we just started this new server) and we have had problems and have been slowly sorting them out

    but.. in the /usr/local/apache/bin
    running ./apachectl configtest we get this message

    root@bliss [/usr/local/apache/bin]# ./apachectl configtest
    [Wed Mar 5 08:16:23 2003] [warn] NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.3:80 has no VirtualHosts
    Syntax OK


    we know the ip listed there is the private local ip...but what does it mean "has no virtualhost" ?

    thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. kcdworks

    kcdworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    It means that you have one (or more) lines in httpd.conf calling that IP as a virtual host ....

    Open /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf and comment out every line containing that IP address. They will look like this:

    NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.3:80

    Add a # to the beginning of any lines that read that way and restart apache.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mind-field

    mind-field Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    But, won't that make any VirtualHost on that shared IP not work?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. kcdworks

    kcdworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    On my box when this was happening, the IP shown was an IP that wasn't being used, so that fixed it for me.

    Chances are, since the error says that it has no VirtualHosts, there are none listed in httpd.conf for that IP anyway. Otherwise, why would the error be there?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mind-field

    mind-field Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hey!

    lol, common sence is has left me for some reason. Yesterday, Today, I hope not again. I have to go look for it. Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Miami
    thanks...thats what it was

    NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.3:80

    was made from testing the making of a sub-account and when the sub-account was deleted it left that there, commenting it out worked fine
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice