The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

APC, Magento and FastCGI

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by thebo0, Oct 10, 2012.

  1. thebo0

    thebo0 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have an out-standing ticket with cPanel support for this issue, but thought I would seek the views of the community whilst waiting for a response.

    ---

    I'm trying to install and configure APC, in order to speed up a Magento shop.

    I've installed the relevant extensions and APC is showing when I run "phpinfo()". However my pages are not being cached as required.

    I've been told that I should run PHP with FastCGI (?). However when I go to "Service Configuration > Apache Configuration > PHP and SuExec" there are no options within the drop-down boxes. I've uploaded a screen-shot to further demonstrate my problem: http://oi46.tinypic.com/inhimb.jpg

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    649
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. LeadDogGraphics

    LeadDogGraphics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    WHM does not support FastCGI by default. You only get FCGI, which is similar but NOT the same. Google has a giant list of blog articles all over about the differences. APC is best used with mod_ruid2 on WHM at this point, but be aware of the security concerns by using that setup.
     
  4. ddeo

    ddeo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is mod_ruid2 part of WHM? Is it better than DSO?

    Thanks for your help. Dan
     
  5. LeadDogGraphics

    LeadDogGraphics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    mod_ruid2 is part of WHM, you have to disable any Apache MPM's for it to show up in Easy Apache.

    There is a much better explanation than this somewhere, and I am sure someone can help me out here, but the basic idea is:
    It is DSO, but it allows the Apache thread to dynamically change user to not run into permission issues. It works great for WordPress.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Also, if you try to use APC with FCGI, your temp file will blow up like a balloon and each process of apache will have it's own cache, which is not effective. There are a few tweaks and adjustments to tame the beast but it's not worth it.
     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    mod_ruid2 is not "part of WHM". It is an Apache httpd module. Apache httpd is separate from cPanel services, including the Webhost Manager. cPanel builds and configures Apache httpd, but they are not the same service and not directly related.

    You can read about mod_ruid2 and how cPanel implements it here:

    The mod_ruid2 Module
     
Loading...

Share This Page