Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

APF / iptables causing stopping cpanel updates

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by electron33, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. electron33

    electron33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi,

    I've been running APF on my server for a few years and for the first time I'm having difficulty with cpanel's update servers.

    When I run:

    #host httpudate.cpanel.net, I get

    ;; Truncated, retrying in TCP mode.
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached


    When I stop apf, everything is fine I get the full list of ips.
    So, I don't think the server has problem resolving the ips.

    Can anyone help please.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,575
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Are you sure you've got cPanel IPs listed/needed whitelisted properly?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. electron33

    electron33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Only one is whitelisted, but as far as I can see, they're not blacklisted either.
     
  4. electron33

    electron33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    OK,

    I run

    #/scripts/cpanelsync httpupdate.cpanel.net /cpanelsync/RELEASE/scripts /scripts

    and now I see all the ips when I do

    #host httpudate.cpanel.net

    :)
     
  5. electron33

    electron33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I'm back to square one again.

    All I can say, it when APF is stopped, everything is fine, but I don't know why yet.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,575
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you checked these for the blocked IPs?:

    /etc/apf_deny_hosts.rules

    /etc/apf/ad/ad.rules

    To flush:
    apf -f
    To restart:
    apf -s


    Or, upgrade to something more useful:
    http://www.configserver.com/cp/csf.html
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. electron33

    electron33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Finally I decided to uninstall APF and install CSF. It's working fine now.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice