The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

API access to DNSONLY version

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by bart613, May 9, 2010.

  1. bart613

    bart613 Registered

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I have 2 cPanel servers (full version) that are hooked up to DNS cluster consisted of two DNSONLY cPanels.

    I need to add, and occasionally modify, some external domains and was planning to use my DNS cluster and API calls to achieve this.

    However, any API calls to DNSONLY cPanels are ending with following response:

    Code:
    <license>
      <status>0</status>
      <statusmsg>Cannot Read License File</statusmsg>
    </license>
    Obviously, API calls that I'm interested in are from the DNS area (more exactly, I tried /xml-api/listzones).

    Are there any limitations or do I have to do anything before I'll be able to use API on DNSONLY servers? I suppose it must be possible because cPanel itself is able to add/remove/update DNS zones.
     
  2. bart613

    bart613 Registered

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried to troubleshoot it as shown on cPanel integration blog. Below is the output.

    Code:
    ]8842][05/09/2010:13:57:14 -0000][getreq 1]: [GET /xml-api/listzones HTTP/1.1
    [8842][05/09/2010:13:57:14 -0000][headerparser 1]:TE: deflate,gzip;q=0.3
    [8842][05/09/2010:13:57:14 -0000][headerparser 1]:Connection: TE, close
    [8842][05/09/2010:13:57:14 -0000][headerparser 1]:Authorization: WHM root:XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    [8842][05/09/2010:13:57:14 -0000][headerparser 1]:Host: XXX:2086
    [8842][05/09/2010:13:57:14 -0000][headerparser 1]:User-Agent: libwww-perl/5.834
    [8842][05/09/2010:13:57:14 -0000][killconnection 1]
    [8842][05/09/2010:13:57:14 -0000][killconnection exit 1]
    If there is anything else that could help, please let me know.
     
  3. bart613

    bart613 Registered

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone? I'm still stuck in the same place :-(

    Any help greatly appreciated.
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You wouldn't do the zone editing at the DNS Only servers ....

    If you want to add extra domains (DNS zones) to your network outside of
    hosting, you would take one of your regular Cpanel hosting servers within
    your cluster and use the "Add a DNS zone" function in WHM.

    After that, if you needed to edit those zones, you would just simply edit the
    DNS zone on the machine where you originally added the DNS zone and if
    you interfaced any API's, it would again be that same hosting machine.

    All changes you make are automatically replicated to the DNS Only
    machines assuming your cluster is setup correctly.
     
  5. bart613

    bart613 Registered

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah - right. So I just need to use one of these normal servers and add these domains on it, locally and these will get replicated later on.

    Not sure why I haven't thought about it before ;-)

    Thanks!
     
  6. MattDees

    MattDees cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The XMLAPI is not functional inside of DNSONLY 11.25.0.

    Furthermore DNS management functions of the XMLAPI have been explicitly disabled in previous versions of cPanel as well.
     
  7. MACscr

    MACscr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thats pretty crappy. Your actually going out of your way to disable a feature that could be useful to people. Its not like we asking for extra features. =/
     
  8. tywe

    tywe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah, unfortunately I have to agree as well. I would like to be able to issue API calls to our DNSONLY server when our main server is down, so that I could temporarily point domains to a different server, but evidently this is not possible unless I use SSH and manually update the DNS records from my scripts. Seems like a cPanel API call would have been a much cleaner approach, but oh well..
     
Loading...

Share This Page