The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apt-get rpm & cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bobbybobbertson, Sep 10, 2003.

  1. bobbybobbertson

    bobbybobbertson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I put apt-get on my RH9 server that has cpanel. I love apt-get, but unfortunately it seems to be a little too smart/unconfigurable.

    The problem is that cpanel installs almost everything with RPM's except for the Apache web server. Therfore apt-get thinks a bunch of packages are missing dependancies on httpd because it doesn't see an rpm for apache.

    Does anyone know how to "fool" apt-get into believeing that apache is really installed?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You don't need apt with cpanel
    just run

    /scripts/ensurerpm <rpm>

    or

    /scripts/installrpm <rpm>

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. bobbybobbertson

    bobbybobbertson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cool. thanks for the info.

    Can you describe what the ensurerpm one does?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. bobbybobbertson

    bobbybobbertson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I tried to install "netcat" on my machine using your method:
    /scripts/installrpm netcat

    It said the package wasn't found. Do you have to use a special name (possibly with version numbers)?

    Or do I have to wget the rpm first and then install it with this script?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. bobbybobbertson

    bobbybobbertson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    woops. nevermind. netcat is named "nc".

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. DudeBro

    DudeBro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have this same problem... and I'd much more prefer to use apt-get and RPM list from WHM. Anything I can do??
     
  7. DudeBro

    DudeBro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  8. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Because apt requires that the package database be consistent, you don't really have a choice.

    Of course, that's part of what makes apt so interesting/effective/fast etc...

    Because cpanel install/removes some packages regardless of dependencies(instead of properly removing those depending packages, as is proper) there is no real solution using apt.

    You could switch to yum, which is almost as good as apt, supported by most of the same repositories, but doesn't perform the incompatble-with-cpanel's-broken-methods check for proper dependencies.

    --
    The future is now, you have to be compatible with the bugs, you can't fix them.
     
Loading...

Share This Page