The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Are the Full backup restore mysql database ????

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mrazh, Apr 22, 2004.

  1. mrazh

    mrazh Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I make a full backup but when i restore the account

    not give me the databases

    Why ????
     
  2. kmsd

    kmsd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same here... I had to manually restore them. I thought the full backup included EVERYTHING for the account???
     
  3. kmsd

    kmsd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just downloaded and unzipped one. It has the databases, yes, but, they are empty files.
    username_databasename.sql

    Each is 0KB.
    Mine are through remote FTP backups AND the manual full home backup.

    Thanks,
    kmsd
     
  4. cch

    cch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is it a cpanel bug? I still get 0k mysql when I download a full backup

    thanks
     
  5. guru

    guru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same here. SQL are 0.
     
  6. eazistore

    eazistore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Singapore
    Hi marazh,

    To my understanding and experience, I have try using FULL BACKUPS - Generate/Download a Full Backup.

    This will download many folder which you never even seen via FTP before.

    After a few trial, I discover that only HOME DIRECTORY - Download a home directory Backup

    This will even backup the email accounts too. SQL databases are surely not backup.

    To make sure databases are backup, you need to select this options at the cPanel backup utility.

    Download a MySQL Database Backup - database name

    The answer why I cannot answer. Probably the cPanel team could.

    Rgds,
    Vincent
    http://www.eazistore.com
     
  7. kmsd

    kmsd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just reconfirmed it.
    Manual downloads of a full backup through CPanel have no SQL. Remote full backups through CPanel have no SQL. Remote FTP backups through the cpbackup program have no SQL.

    On top of that I have found that in order to backup using remote ftp backup and not get any disk quota errors each user needs to have AT LEAST double his/her free disk space to get a full backup in as you'll get disk quota exceeded errors for ones that don't; when I get those errors my nightly remote file is over a MB.

    Has anyone opened up a bug report/support ticket on these issues?

    Thanks,
    kmsd
     
  8. chazzle

    chazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This really sux.. I was wondering why when I restored a full backup the other day that the database was not restored. Why do I have backup running each night if my most important data is not being backed up??
    Luckily I had a backup of the database on my local machine.
    This would have been really bad.. Still is to those that dont know about it..
     
  9. yahoolane

    yahoolane Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Will Someone Please Answer the Question

    I have customers will full backups, We had a server
    crash and burn.

    When I upload the full backups, they do not restore
    the make a directory but do not move to where they
    belong.

    The full mySQL directory is there, binary files.

    How Do We Restore Full Backups!!!




    :confused:
     
  10. DuxAranea

    DuxAranea Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The problem I have intermittently is that the databses do get restored, but with no tables inside them! Empty databses. But only soetimes. Some databases do back up correctly, while others dont. I wonder if cpanel knows about this...
     
  11. yahoolane

    yahoolane Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I know the databases are there

    I have done full backups, and then downloaded
    the gz file and unziped them and placed the binaries on
    my mysql server. They are there I can see them
    in the directory. and they have size.

    The Question is not why the SQL databases dont
    restore, for me it is more why does not Full Backup
    Not Restore.

    Need Full backup to Restore.
    is my cpanel broken or is it something else.

    :confused:
     
  12. eazistore

    eazistore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Singapore
    Re: I know the databases are there

    Hi Yahoolane,

    Have you try use the HOME DIRECTORY - Download a home directory Backup instead of FULL BACKUPS ?

    I don't understand why it didn't restore but as when you do a restore, it'll just be a blank page and I have read the forum somewhere here that it's probably due to the file size too huge.

    You need to restore the database by using Download a MySQL Database Backup - Restore database.

    My understand is that Full Backup does not backup your databases.

    If not, you can go to phpmyadmin via your cPanel to create database and import the database (data.sql) manually.

    I believe your cPanel is not broken.
    I wish you get your database fix.

    Rgds,
    Vincent
    http://www.eazistore.com
     
  13. DuxAranea

    DuxAranea Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Uhhh whats the point of a full backup if it's not 'full'?
     
  14. yahoolane

    yahoolane Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No Answers Yeat

    First for thoes of you who dont think full is full

    Unzip the file on your HD, Winzip can do it.

    you will see a homedir with all your stuff.

    Then look for the mysql directory you will
    see 3 file for each table/database these are the
    structure, data, indexes. If you copy them
    into a working mysql database data directory
    and add the user. You will see that this is your data.

    Now I have a Full backup I know it is full because
    I can winzip the file and view it, How do we restore
    the file automaticly.

    :confused:
     
  15. DuxAranea

    DuxAranea Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Then the problem is probably with the restoration script and not with the backup script. Good, we've established something. Hopefully maybe someone who actually works at cpanel will pick up on this.
     
  16. r00t316

    r00t316 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    no it isn't.
    Did you ever try looking at the *.sql files the full backup creates? It is empty.
    I have the same problem with them being empty files.
     
  17. kmsd

    kmsd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Agreed, I have the same issue on my own full backups as well as the ones I did when I was with Dathorn. All this time I used full backups as a source for my personal packups but it was never doing the full thing. I get a lot of crap not related to my account though, like reseller info.. great.. gimme my SQL :).
     
  18. jdstallings

    jdstallings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here is another one to throw in... When you perform a full backup, it also does not backup ANY of the MAIL LISTS. So you have NO backups of your mail list servers at all.
     
  19. r00t316

    r00t316 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Actually you are correct.
    But when you do /scripts/pkgacct username it does?
    However the full-backup uses the same script but includes more arguments when it is a customer running it then when root runs /scripts/pkgacct.

    Kind of weird.
    I rather the user backup be like the /scripts/pkgacct because then you can restore them quite easily :)
     
  20. jdstallings

    jdstallings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That would be a good option. I am very surprised it has never made it as an enhancement
     
Loading...

Share This Page