The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ARRGH @ SMTP its dead :-(

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by mikeyskona, Jan 27, 2005.

  1. mikeyskona

    mikeyskona Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Plymouth UK
    help :-( please :-(
    update Cpanel to 10-0-0 R7

    suddenly all email accounts on my server died. Every customer gets the following errors on both ports 25 and 26:

    Mike Hayward
    01-26-2005 - 07:15PM

    Task 'mkserve.net - Sending and Receiving' reported error (0x8004210B) : 'The operation timed out waiting for a response from the sending (SMTP) server. If you continue to receive this message, contact your server administrator or Internet service provider (ISP). The server responded: ?0 message to verify they are valid."'

    and

    Task 'mkserve.net - Sending' reported error (0x800CCC0B) : 'Unknown Error 0x800CCC0B'


    Please help this is driving me mental..... Server provider has had a look and said it's baffled them.. which again has leftt me to my own devices :-(
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    We had several clients with the same problem. It is possible that Perl modules or exim conf file itself got corrupted.
     
  3. joshg678

    joshg678 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Home
    actually most isp block 3rd party smtp servers.

    You might try to set your account to use your isp's smtp server and use your standard pop


    Current List of ISPs that Block 3rd Party SMTP Servers.

    . @Home
    . Adelphia
    . AltaVista Free Access
    . Alltell
    . Atlantic Broadband
    . AOL International ***
    . Ameritech
    . AT&T BI
    . AT&T Worldnet ****
    . Arch Broadband
    . Bell Canada
    . Bell Internet
    . Bell Sympatico
    . Bell South
    . Bell, Southwestern
    . Bell, Pacific / Pacbell
    . Bigpond
    . Broadwing
    . CableAmerica
    . Cableone
    . Cablevision ** ***
    . Charter
    . Citlink
    . Coax
    . Comcast ** ***
    . Consolidated Communications
    . Cox
    . DCAnet
    . DSLExtreme
    . Earthlink *****
    . Epix
    . Erols
    . Etisalat
    . Flashnet
    . Frontiernet
    . Fuse Dialup/NET
    . GTE
    . Highstream
    . IONet
    . Joi
    . Juno
    . Knology.net
    . MCI
    . MediaOne
    . Mindspring
    . MSN ***
    . Nebi
    . Netcom
    . Netzero
    . Newnorth
    . Newsouth - Renamed to NuVox
    . NuVox - Reseller of BellSouth
    . Optimum Online ** ***
    . Panix
    . PeoplePC
    . Prodigy
    . Quixnet
    . RoadRunner (New York City Area)*
    . RCN
    . SBC Global
    . Sprynet
    . Speakeasy
    . SpeedneT
    . Sprint *****
    . Starpower
    . The-Beach
    . T-Mobile *****
    . uu.net
    . Verio
    . Verizon ***
    . Videotron - Canada
    . Worldcom
    . Yahoo / SBC Global
    . Yourlink
    . ZoomTown

    *(regional rules apply, check with your ISP)
    **(filters some webhosting providers for both POP and SMTP)
    ***(cannot use their outgoing SMTP to relay domains other than their own)
    ****(limited blocking, sometimes they will enable customer as per customer's request)
    *****(may reroute outbound SMTP back to their own SMTP server)
     
  4. mikeyskona

    mikeyskona Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Plymouth UK
    Nope Not the 3rd Party SMTP Servers

    THought of that. I myself am using a UK Provider (Telewest) which do not have any restrictions on SMTP at all, infact they encourage you to use 3rd Party SMTP where possible as it cuts down on stuff they have to support (according to the comic / tech support guy thier end) <G>. Also i have 3 clients that cannot get remote access to the server and also the admins at BurstNET cannot gain remote SMTP access to it..... they are as lost as i am at this moment :confused:
     
    #4 mikeyskona, Jan 27, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2005
  5. joshg678

    joshg678 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Home
    sounds like it might be a bad server, or a bad script.

    have you tried reinstalling the smtp script, forget the name of it, but i think you can reinstall it.
     
  6. mikeyskona

    mikeyskona Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Plymouth UK
    how do u mean re-install the script? BurstNET re-installed Exim for me with a fresh config.. still dead.. was that what u mean?
     
  7. joshg678

    joshg678 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Home
    thats what i ment, reinstall Exim, i couldent think of the script

    well what server is this

    linux? if so, is it redhat, fudora, free bsd. If fudora you might want to check the firewall settings. If it comes down to it, it might be your datacenter. HE.net is the best, honest, i have never had a problem.
     
  8. mikeyskona

    mikeyskona Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Plymouth UK
    Server info:
    OS: RedHat 8.0 i686
    Current WHM: 9.9.9 -S15 ( i did a rollback to see if that fixed what Cpanel Knackered )

    other Server Info:

    Processor Information
    Processor #1 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #1 Name: Intel(R) Celeron(TM) CPU 1100MHz
    Processor #1 speed: 1093.573 MHz
    Processor #1 cache size: 256 KB

    Memory Information
    Memory: 245228k/253888k available (3247k kernel code, 8276k reserved, 1025k data, 400k init, 0k highmem)

    System Information
    Linux admin.mkserve.net 2.4.26-HN-1.6.1-i686 #1 SMP Wed Jun 16 14:03:00 EDT 2004 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    exim info (as seen in service status)

    exim (exim-4.44-0_cpanel_smtpctl_av_rewrite_mm2_mmmtrap_exiscan_md5pass)
     
  9. joshg678

    joshg678 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Home
    hmm, might be wise to upgrade to redhad 9, or FC2

    You have a really slow server, i hope you don't have a lot of people hosted on it, because that would be really slow.
     
  10. mikeyskona

    mikeyskona Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Plymouth UK
    Nah lol. only 3 main sites really. + a 20-30 basic sub-domained sites. Server responds well enough... a shame CPanel updates screw everything up :-\... right ok... here is what i tried so far...

    /scripts/exim4
    /scripts/mailperm
    /scripts/exim4 --latest
    /scripts/fixeverything

    reboot then run /scripts/exim4


    none of that worked.

    any other ideas? :-(

    :: update ::

    Just tried updating to EDGE as changelog reckoned it had a cppop fix for the same kinda prob i got....... didnt work :-(
     
    #10 mikeyskona, Jan 27, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2005
  11. joshg678

    joshg678 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Home
    well im not sure what to tell you right now. But i will ask all my linux savy friends and see what they say you should do.
     
  12. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    We can fix this problem for ya. Visit our Web site for more details.

    Thank you!
     
  13. joshg678

    joshg678 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Home
    Hve you checked if your smtp service is running?
     
  14. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    I worked on his box for about 30 minutes last night ..i installed a pop box and tested on port 26, sent to outside and back to same box. I had no problems. There seems to be no firewall running on the box ..but 25 was open and running. I tailed the exim_mainlog for 30 minutes and mail was working ..then all of a sudden box was gone. .i was running pingplotter from 2 networks and say it just died for 20 seconds and come back. I sshed back in and sure enough timout errors all over exim ..defers. My conclusion ..since the box was failing connection off and on every few minutes and packet loos was so bad that it was his connection. Traces and pings to burst.net from 3 remote boxes and here resulted in the same thing ...like somebody was flipping a switch on the network and when it was up there was 40% packetloss. I watched some of his pop logs at the same time and was watching the same thing ..box would choke from connection and he would have dead pop sessions and screwed up inbox.lock files. It's a flakey network at least last night ..you can't run a server on 40% packetloos at the NOC router and after!!!! I gave uo ..couldn't even work on it cause of it. Check this out ..his routes were 28 hops away and I am here 200 miles from his box on sprintlink .. which was only 3 hops. It was terrible. One thing is for sure ..this ain't no cPanel screw up. There might be something else wrong but I know for a fact this isseu will cause issues and was while I was watching logs. He said Burst looked around and couldn't find anything wrong ..gee they didn't loose connection every 5 minutes and have 50% packetloss ..gee could it be cuase they were coming in from inside the NOC? ...bottom line exim running on 25 and 26 fine.
     
  15. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Good work. As you say, if you have packet loss, there's little point looking any further until it is fixed by the NOC. They're perfectly capable of seeing the packet loss for themselves and if they don't fix it, go somewhere else. Could just as easily be a NIC problem too, but still up to the NOC to determine.

    One other thing that I sometimes come across is people using very slow DNS resolvers (or resolvers that simply don't resolve!) which can cause all sorts of problems, especially with email.

    If you ever do worry that exim is having a problem, the best thing is to reset it back to its defaults (though take note of any changes that you may have made via the Exim Configuration Editor as they will be lost):

    /scripts/reseteximtodefaults
     
  16. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    yep he is pretty much at default ..about 10 times now exim has been rebuilt and is stock. as far as the NIC ..i rulled that out unless 3 boxes at Burstnet are all having NIC problems at exact same time ..but you know ..most of the times ..those nic cards work or they don't ... but you can get drivers choking and stacking issues ..but his box is empty the damn loads are like 0.00 .. all of sudden ..crappy box.. I say crappy packatloss ..and even if there is another issue ..you can't work on it liek that.
     
  17. mikeyskona

    mikeyskona Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Plymouth UK
    Arghhh. Okies. thanks. Where would u suggest i go on from here then... is it a Server connection issue? or is this more of a Box is doing too much ./ lagged out issue?

    thanks in advance,

    Mike
     
    #17 mikeyskona, Jan 28, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2005
  18. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA

    from what I saw last night (and this could have been temp) it was a network issue with their connection to the outside world and it has nothing to do with your server. Your loads were nothing ..like 0 man :) ..in my opinion it's packetloss issues ..at least it was last night.
     
  19. mikeyskona

    mikeyskona Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Plymouth UK
    Hmm.. problem is tho.. it;s still doing it :-\ and i dont seem to get any packetloss from home. (granted tho i'm only on a 1mbit connection at home).. and it ONLY seems to be mailserver effected.. FTP seems fine.

    1 8 ms 7 ms 24 ms 10.189.64.1
    2 8 ms 10 ms 10 ms 80.235.128.33
    3 14 ms 15 ms 42 ms 172.18.6.85
    4 13 ms 44 ms 14 ms tele1-azt-pos.telewest.net [194.117.136.2]
    5 16 ms 65 ms 13 ms 194.117.148.163
    6 14 ms 14 ms 17 ms so-4-1-0.cr1.lhr3.uk.above.net [208.184.231.174]

    7 86 ms 88 ms 89 ms so-7-0-0.cr1.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.31.186]
    8 86 ms 89 ms 109 ms so-0-0-0.cr2.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.29.122]
    9 96 ms 89 ms 90 ms so-3-0-0.mpr2.phl2.us.above.net [64.125.27.29]
    10 90 ms 88 ms 94 ms 208.185.65.205.available.above.net [208.185.65.2
    05]
    11 93 ms 95 ms 94 ms ge-7-0-ctsi.rtr0.scra1.hostnoc.net [66.197.191.4
    5]
    12 93 ms 95 ms 96 ms ge-rtr1.scra1.hostnoc.net [66.197.191.82]
    13 111 ms 96 ms 94 ms admin.mkserve.net [64.191.118.22]
     
  20. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    yep ..been running pingplotter from here for about 30 minutes and it looks clean.

    have you had clienst "telnet domain.com 25" and see if your server says hello? are you sure it's not the port 25 thing being blocked?
     
Loading...

Share This Page