The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

.ASP Files on Cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by a1hosting, May 29, 2007.

  1. a1hosting

    a1hosting Registered

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having trouble getting .ASP to work for me. Can Cpanel handle .asp? If so, where do you put the .ASP extensions? Do they go into the CGI-Bin? Please help! I will be forever grateful!
     
  2. wsenter

    wsenter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    ASP has nothing to do with cpanel itself. It is more of an issue with having or not having a windows server or another application running on a Unix server. In most cases considering a stardard configuration you cannot run asp pages.

    However it is possibly to run asp on a Unix server. You must install Mono with an aspx server on your Unix Server please see http://www.mono-project.com/Guidelines:Application_Portability
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel/WHM does include support for mod_mono but it is disabled by default. ASP support will be limited to that which mono supports.
     
  4. waynemachuca

    waynemachuca Registered

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    To David: Where is Mono?

    Hi, I am having the same issue as A1 hosting.

    Where is the mod_mono located so that I can turn it on? Is it in CPanel or WHM?

    We are close and this is the last step.:confused:
     
  5. a1hosting

    a1hosting Registered

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    mod_mono - .ASP - default set to off. How do I turn it on?

    I have been trying to get the .ASP to work for me and have gotten some help through the forums which have gotten me closer. Thank you! I am trying to locate the mod_mono area in the Cpanel as it is turned off by default ? Is it in CPanel or WHM? Please help...I know it is probably right in front of me. I am using Cpanel 10.9.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In the WHM interface, go to the cPanel section and click on Plugins (add-ons in cPanel 10 I believe). Then check the box for "modmono" and click save at the bottom of the page.
     
  7. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    How is the load of mod_mono? How does it compare to Sun Java System Active Server Pages 4.0?
     
  8. waynemachuca

    waynemachuca Registered

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What about the purchased ad on?

    Has anyone purchased the ASP.NET additional feature? And if so, did it work?
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel, Inc does not sell an additional ASP.NET feature. Such functionality is included with cPanel/WHM as mod_mono.

    Unlike some companies, we don't charge for additional features ;)
     
  10. bgw1999

    bgw1999 Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have multiple sites with couple of different host companies and am looking to put them all on a VPS server. I have been playing with Plesk and don't really care for it. 3 of my sites have cPanel. My problem is that I have a few Frontpage databases that run .asp pages and from what I have been told cPanel will not work. Is this correct?
     
  11. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ASP is not very compatible with Unix/Linux/BSD base servers as it is inherently a Microsoft Technology. There are various implementations, both commercial and open source, that can give you some of the compatibility of ASP. First you must determine:

    Do I need Classic ASP? or
    Do I need ASP.NET?

    ASP.NET can be handled to some degree by ModMono. A simple install script is available at http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/attachment.cgi?id=403 A more complete version will eventually be made available via easyapache. You can find documentation regarding ModMono at mono-project.org

    Classic ASP can be handled via what used to be known as chilisoft ASP: http://www.sun.com/software/chilisoft/ (I'm not certain if this also supports ASP.NET)

    There are other projects that do some of this. A google for Apache + ASP might be a good start.
     
Loading...

Share This Page