Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

ASP not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by haze, Nov 15, 2002.

  1. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    What exactly do you mean ? You do know that apache ASP is a completely different beast from the ASP that is run on windows, do you?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    I believe ( not 100% correct ) that it is another language altogether.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    You might want to look into chillisoft asp, though I think it comes with a heafty price tag.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. taivu

    taivu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    [quote:e8c0a83efa][i:e8c0a83efa]Originally posted by iminteractive[/i:e8c0a83efa]
    I believe ( not 100% correct ) that it is another language altogether.[/quote:e8c0a83efa]

    Correct. It also requires mod_perl to run. From http://www.apache-asp.org/:

    &Apache::ASP provides an Active Server Pages port to the Apache Web Server with Perl scripting only, and enables developing of dynamic web applications with session management and embedded perl code. &

    You can take a look at the syntax: http://www.apache-asp.org/syntax.html
     
  5. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    191
    [quote:36075d565a][i:36075d565a]Originally posted by taivu[/i:36075d565a]

    [quote:36075d565a][i:36075d565a]Originally posted by iminteractive[/i:36075d565a]
    I believe ( not 100% correct ) that it is another language altogether.[/quote:36075d565a]

    Correct. It also requires mod_perl to run. From http://www.apache-asp.org/:

    &Apache::ASP provides an Active Server Pages port to the Apache Web Server with Perl scripting only, and enables developing of dynamic web applications with session management and embedded perl code. &


    [/quote:36075d565a]

    What does that mean in English? Will it or will it not allow .asp pages to function?
     
  6. Frenck

    Frenck Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    I would say pic ChiliSoft ASP. The price may be high, but it works fine. You could consider to use the development version of ChiliSoft. That one is for download for free.

    ApacheASP has its own syntax. No recommended for hostings selling it as ASP ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    191
    What is the difference between the develpment version and the licensed version? I'd like to offer it to my customers and then see how much they'd be willing to pay to keep it after testing it. I can't afford the license on my own.
     
    #7 casey, Feb 18, 2003
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2003
  8. Frenck

    Frenck Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    There is no diference between the development version and the normal version.

    Only the development version normally is for developement of your asp sites only. When you really going to use it public, a license must be bought (@ least you should ;) )

    I won't tell :rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice