The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Asp?

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by Getox, Feb 6, 2004.

  1. Getox

    Getox BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is there by any chance of getting ASP on cpanel ?

    thanks
     
  2. erwinfa

    erwinfa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. UltraMatrix.net

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    this grate
     
  4. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok we have tried the above link http://www.hostinglife.com/cpinfo/aspi.php for the apache asp install everything with fine on the install but running a file called test.asp with this inside of the file and chmod at 644

    When ran from the browser I get this

    Internal Server Error
    The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

    Any ideas?
     
  5. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    They work if you use uppercase for the extension.
    why is that?
     
  6. bensonlee

    bensonlee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Philippines
    are there any solution if i am just a client.... or a reseller... where ssh has been disabled and does not have access to root acct.
     
  7. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    On http restart...

    Feb 22 11:21:51 web02 httpd: /etc/rc3.d/S85httpd start: httpd started Feb 22 11:21:51 web02 rc: Starting httpd: succeeded Can't connect at /scripts/restartsrv line 242, line 73890.

    I had to restore httpd.conf from a backup and restart httpd to get it back up and running.

     
  8. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    Problem is this is NOT the exact same as Microsoft ASP.

    Apache::ASP is not = MS ASP.

    If you want real ASP, you'd have to buy ChiliSoft/SunOne ASP.
     
  9. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have it setup on one of our servers here and it seems to work.



     
    #9 jackal, Feb 28, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2009
  10. besimtari

    besimtari Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I login to my server via SSH as root. I type this: wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/apache-asp.sea

    I got this:
    root@high [~]# cd wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/apache-asp.sea
    -bash: cd: wget: No such file or directory
    root@high [~]# wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/apache-asp.sea
    --20:04:51-- http://layer1.cpanel.net/apache-asp.sea
    => `apache-asp.sea'
    Resolving layer1.cpanel.net... 69.72.164.152, 69.72.164.155, 69.90.250.34, ...
    Connecting to layer1.cpanel.net|69.72.164.152|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
    20:04:52 ERROR 404: Not Found.

    Could you please tell me what it is wrong there?
     
  11. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The instructions you're following are about 2 years old. This feature is no longer available.

    The only way of adding true asp support is to use a Windows server.
     
  12. besimtari

    besimtari Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for your reply, but I would like some one to help me to Install ASP (Apache::ASP) on CPanel.
     
  13. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Like webignition said if you want asp run windows.

    There is a reason cpanel no longer offers apache::asp, It doesn't work right!
     
  14. aress

    aress Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Asp support

    Hello,

    Yes you can use ASP on Cpanel server. Contact your hosting provider and ask whether ASP is installed on their Cpanel server or not. If your host provide ASP support then you can use. :D
     
  15. aress

    aress Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Step 1. Get the goods
    root@Server [~]# wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/apache-asp.sea

    Step 2. Set permissions
    root@Server [~]# chmod 755 apache-asp.sea

    Step 3. Initial installation (Can take up to a minute or so)
    root@Server [~]# ./apache-asp.sea

    Step 4. restart apache
    root@Server [~]# /etc/init.d/httpd restart

    Step 5. Configure Apache (use vi/pico etc)
    root@Server [~]# vi /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

    Now you wana look this area (you could say its near the middle)

    <Files ~ "^.ht">
    Order allow,deny
    Deny from all
    Satisfy All
    </Files>

    Below that add the following data:

    PerlModule Apache::ASP
    <Files ~ (.asp)>
    SetHandler perl-script
    PerlHandler Apache::ASP
    PerlSetVar Global .
    PerlSetVar StateDir /tmp/asp
    </Files>

    Lets continue...

    Now find in httpd.conf the following.

    <IfModule mod_dir.c>
    (Should contain index.html etc), now add index.asp (but do not delete the origional arguments).
    </IfModule>

    Step 6. Now save httpd.conf
    :wq

    Step 7. Restart apache
    root@Server [~]# /etc/init.d/httpd restart

    Now you should be setup and ready to go, if you are having any errors please check to see that you did each step correctly.:D
     
  16. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please check your information before advising.

    As was posted before cpanel no longer offers apache::asp

    root@web6 [~]# wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/apache-asp.sea
    --01:45:05-- http://layer1.cpanel.net/apache-asp.sea
    => `apache-asp.sea'
    Resolving layer1.cpanel.net... 8.10.120.130, 69.90.250.35, 69.90.250.36, ...
    Connecting to layer1.cpanel.net|8.10.120.130|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
    01:45:10 ERROR 404: Not Found.
     
  17. besimtari

    besimtari Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  18. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Just to clarify things a little . . .

    1) The instructions to which you refer are out of date by many years and are no longer valid.

    2) ASP is an MS technology and comes as standard with an MS server OS.

    3) You won't be able to run ASP properly on a Linux server. All Linux-based ASP 'addons' try to emulate the features of ASP but don't and can't do it properly. The best you can hope for is a scripting language that looks like ASP but doesn't offer the features or functionality of ASP.

    4) Due to such problems, cPanel no longer offers an ASP option and hasn't done for quite a while. Hence http://layer1.cpanel.net/apache-asp.sea doesn't exist.

    5) The only way you're going to get full ASP functionality is to use a Windows server.

    Alternatively, you could use your preferred search engine to hunt down Linux-based ASP options, give them a try and see that they don't, on the whole, work.

    Linux-based ASP might work for you, depending on what your scripts do.

    Since ASP is merely one of many scripting languages and by no means offers any real level of functionality that cannot be achieved by other means, you'd be better off writing a Perl/PHP/Python script that does the same thing.

    What does your script do?
     
  19. besimtari

    besimtari Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, there are only some html files reading from ASP scripts, which one of my clients want to move from windows server to my server, reason for asking this, because emails are not working over there.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  20. bennet

    bennet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

Share This Page