The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Assign IPv6 Address to nameserver

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by kernow, Jan 18, 2017.

  1. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Were wanting to assign IPV6 addresses to our nameservers but WHM will only do this for account names and our nameservers domain name don't have an account so the domain is owned by 'nobody' So how to assign IPV6?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,022
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you let us know the specific error message you are receiving and the full steps you are taking to reproduce this issue? Also, please let us know which version of cPanel is installed on the system.

    Thank you.
     
  3. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,
    There is no error message, the question is how to assign an IPV6 address to a domain name ( in this case a nameserver) that is owned by 'nobody' as the tool in WHM will only do this for account names
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,022
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm unable to reproduce this error message when assigning an IPv6 address to a name server with a domain name that's not associated with an account. Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here and we will update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  5. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    How did you do it then? the tool in WHM>>>>Assign IPV6 address only offers you to "select an account" not a domain name, so how did you do it using this tool? See attached pic
     

    Attached Files:

    #5 kernow, Jan 24, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2017
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,022
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You should use the "Configure Address Records" option under the Nameservers section in:

    "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Basic WebHost Manager® Setup"

    Thank you.
     
    kernow likes this.
  7. vivyrelax

    vivyrelax Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I had an IPV6 for one of my DNS and it was a real nightmare. I don't suggest to do that..... the web is not ready to use these
    IPv6... If you want nightmare... ok if you prefer peace, buy a new IP to your webhost...
     
  8. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @cPanelMichael Thanks.
    @vivyrelax
    Some clients are already on IPv6 only networks and some others insist on IPV6 address. It does work if configured correctly.
    With regard to my original question, unless your DNS servers are accessible over IPv6, users (or more specifically, their DNS resolvers) will still need to use IPv4 in order to find your site in the first place. To avoid this, you need to ensure that your nameservers have IPv6 addresses.
     
Loading...

Share This Page