The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Assign Name Server IP Bug???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DReade83, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. DReade83

    DReade83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Click Assign Name Server IPs... On mine it takes about a minute to "Update IP Whois Database"...

    After it loads, it takes a good solid 5 minutes to add an IP - why???

    Once added, if you can't be bothered to wait for it to update the whois DB again because it takes too long... Just click "Add Name Server IP" from the menu on the left again and it seems to skip that process...

    That's the bug, however why does the process take so long?? There's no need to, it's excessive! I can restart BIND in a few seconds compared to this!

    This is happening on multiple servers, RELEASE build.
     
  2. islanding

    islanding Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boston
    Name server IP bug?

    I have the same problem. I did not wait 5 minutes, as I have other servers and it did not take that long in the older version of WHM. I will retry it and wait...what other choice do I have!
     
  3. islanding

    islanding Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boston
    Name server bug?

    I tried waiting, after 11 minutes I canceled the process.
     
  4. rbaxter

    rbaxter Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  5. rbaxter

    rbaxter Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,
    I'm having the same problem here. I've left it attempting this process for a good three hours on more than one occasion, and it doesn't actually finish. Sorry to be a cheeky newb, but does anyone know of a work around or could point me to some resources where I could learn about how to sort this out? Goooogle has failed me (or vice versa :rolleyes:) and I'm new to dedicated servers. It's been a bit of a crash course so far!
    Cheers
    -R
     
    #5 rbaxter, Jan 21, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page