The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Assigning IPs to nameservers not working as usually in WHM

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by pingo, Mar 10, 2003.

  1. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't know if this is due to the release of WHM 6.0 or because I'm trying to do it on a new server which has a trust relationship established to another server of mine. WHM isn't assigning IPs as usually.

    I usually do not use the 'Assign an IP functions" in WHM - just adds the nameservers with their IPs to the DNS zone. But this only happens to the IP for domain.com and ns1.domain.com.

    Is it possible in some way to control what IP is assigned to a nameserver in WHM? I would like ns2 to use the IP that follows ns1.

    This is what I have done so far without any problems:

    1. Unmarks IP in "Show/Edit Reserved IP" to assign ded. IP to account
    2. Creates account - choses the free IP
    3. Assigns reseller privileges - writes ns1.domain.com/ns2.domain.com in the fields at the bottom of this page - (not using the 'Assign IP' button).
    4. Assigns ownership
    5. Ads two A records to DNS Zone
    - ns1 14400 IN A <IP-no1>
    - ns2 14400 IN A <IP-no2> (the IP that follows the one that were just assigned to domain.com/ns1.domain.com)

    6. Chooses "Manage Assigned Nameserver Ips" to check if it has propagated. Only ns1.domain.com has the correct IP number. ns2.domain.com is not shown there.

    7. Tries to assing an IP to ns2.domain.com choosing the nameserver button at the bottom of the "Manage Assigned Nameserver Ips" page as well as at the bottom of the "Edit reseller privileges" page - in both cases it assigns the IP randomly - in this case it assigns the servers main IP to ns2.

    I want it to assign the IP that follows the one just assigned to domain.com/ns1.domain.com. Does anyone know how this could be done? I don't know why the cpanel.net team have choosen that randomly function for assigning IPs :(

    Hope that someone here has the answer.

    Thanks
    John
     
    #1 pingo, Mar 10, 2003
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2003
  2. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Manually edit /etc/namerserverips and assign your nameserver to the IP you want. That has worked for me.
     
  3. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    FCW - thanks for saving/making my day! - it works fine :)

    John
     
  4. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Glad it worked for you. :cool:
     
  5. Webworks1

    Webworks1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    tks

    FWC thats just what i was looking for too.

    Thanks mate..
     
Loading...

Share This Page