The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Attempting to locate /etc/named.conf no bind configuration present

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by NihaoHst, Aug 9, 2006.

  1. NihaoHst

    NihaoHst Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Attempting to locate /etc/named.conf no bind configuration present

    I keep getting that on a brand new server. Everything else went well but the DNS server won't load because of it and I can't create my domain accounts for the same reasons.

    I checked and indeed the named.conf is not there.

    I tried fixes suggested on other forums like
    /scripts/rebuildnamedconf

    But it does nothing and when I restart Bind DNS server I get that :
    named has failed, please contact the sysadmin (result was "named is not running").

    I really don't know what to do since this bug comes out of nowhere. I had no issues during the config of my server and never had this problem on my other server with a similar setup.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.2-R119
    CentOS 4.3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  2. NihaoHst

    NihaoHst Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Also when I try some of the multiple fix scripts I get that:

    root@server [/etc]# /scripts/fixrndc
    [DNSLib]: Attempting to locate /etc/named.conf
    [DNSLib]: no bind configuration present
    [DNSLib]: Attempting to locate /etc/named.conf
    [DNSLib]: no bind configuration present
    [DNSLib]: Unable to locate either rndc or ndc. Please check Bind installation.

    Is there a way to force Bind's clean reinstallation?
     
  3. NihaoHst

    NihaoHst Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here is the fix:

    up2date -u bind

    For some reason there was no bind files on the system so I had to DL it and then run the fix scripts.

    Everything now works.
     
  4. rikgarner

    rikgarner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    /dev/null
    Thats a bizarre fault - We are running exactly the same setup as you on multiple boxes, and have never had this probem during build.

    Did you perform a logged install of Cpanel? It would be interesting to see if the BIND install bummed out at some point.

    On a slight side-note, we prefer yum to up2date on our Centos systems :)


    Rich
     
  5. NihaoHst

    NihaoHst Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cpanel was installed by a hivelocity.net technician so I don't know what he did. I did the 1st time configuration part and didn't encounter issues.

    I had exactly the same setup before on another server @hivelocit and didnt have this problem which is why I didn't understand how it happened. But eitherway its fixed now and running smoothly.

    So if it happends to anyone, you know what to try now :)
     
  6. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Bind should have been installed during the cPanel installation. It's attempted installation would be recorded in the cPanel install logs. The logs are located in /var/log.
     
Loading...

Share This Page