The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto Install on Subdomain?

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by Ulysses, Nov 12, 2003.

  1. Ulysses

    Ulysses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    G'day,

    Does anyone know if Fantastico and/or Scripts Library in cPanel can install auto install scripts on subdomains?

    Specifically osCommerce - into a (say) shop.clientdomain.com

    Though osCommerce is an easy one to install manually, there's always the "clueless client" to consider.

    Gracias amigos!

    Ulysses
     
  2. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Most scripts to be installed in a Sub-domain, need to be installed manually. This would make it the responsibilty of the Domain/Account owner or, if they are really nice, the ServerAdmin. ;)
     
  3. Ulysses

    Ulysses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    G'day W'Rob,

    Thanks for that.

    I'll go have a board meeting with myself in the pub to see how nice I really should be to my CC's.

    But, you're right, of course - it would be far easier to just install the thing than to answer an unending array of dubya questions.

    Ulysses
     
  4. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    If the user is incapable of installing/configuring this script on their own, do you really think that you are going to escape support issues by simply installing it for them?

    Most hosts I have spoken with offer access to fantastico (and the like) mearly as a convenience to customers and offer no support. Some hosts do not even allow access to add-on scripts through cPanel as not to confuse the customer as to what is a supported versus unsupported service. Configuring a script for a customer usually falls under billable support and depending on your relationship with that customer may or may not be billed.

    Do be weary. If a customer cannot find/download/install a package, then in most circumstances they are also going to be unable to manage it.
     
  5. Ulysses

    Ulysses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    G'day Sarcy & phant,

    You're right boys, configuring would be an utter pain in the bush. But there's a huuuuuge difference between installing a script and configuring it.

    If you know what you're doing, you can install osCommerce manually in less than 10 minutes. I can afford to be "nice" for 10 minutes.

    Thank'yall fer yer input though.

    Ulysses
     
  6. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stating the obvious is well said?

    It goes without saying, someone who doesn't know how to install a script will most likely need more help, if someone else installs it for them. On the other hand, once installed most people can take it from there.

    To each their own though. :)
     
  7. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Website Rob the problem with common sense is that it often isn't as common as you would like to think.
     
  8. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    :eek: :D
     
  9. webmeister

    webmeister Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    script installation vs. configuration and management...

    isn't that the difference between technical and testical support? :cool:
     
  10. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    has anybody tried simply using say fantastico to install a script in somesite.com/somescript, then going into the subdomain manager and making a subdomain for somescript like somescript.somesite.com?

    Does that not work?
     
  11. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    If you are going to post something mindless then do not bother. The subdomain manager is just as much a part of cpanel as the scripts are part of fantastico.
     
  12. Ulysses

    Ulysses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    G'day all,

    Problem resolved. It was not Fantastico! that was lacking, it was osCommerce - which can not be installed on a subdomain, especially where the SSL cert is also on a subdomain.

    From Fantastico!'s point of view, I assume it's garbage in garbage out. It's not for them to solve the bugs in the scripts they elect to include.

    Fantastico! is a great client puller for us. Can't complain with that.

    Ulysses
     
  13. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Was it as simple as modifying the configure.php file to reflect the subdomain path or did you need to do more than that?
     
  14. Ulysses

    Ulysses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The configure.php of osCommerce does not allow for subdomain installation at all. It is only good for specifying directory locations such as abc.com/shop/ etc but not shop.abc.com

    We had our mySQL chap look at the script and it was decided that it would be cheaper and quicker for our client to buy another domain name and another SSL cert and clean install, rather than try and fix the problem with the osCommerce script for it to work on a subdomain.

    Ulysses
     
Loading...

Share This Page