The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto loading "Under Constraction" page

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by luckyhost, Feb 19, 2009.

  1. luckyhost

    luckyhost Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    Hello there,

    I have created an "under construction" html page and set it up in the skeleton directory, so that every time a new account is created, automatically this page loads up, until the website is ready... What I want to do, is to also show on the top part of that page, the domain name of the new account. i.e. Welcome to the [DomainName.com].
    Can someone help me out in how to do that??

    Thanks in advance for your help.
     
    #1 luckyhost, Feb 19, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2009
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I use:
    <!--#echo var="HTTP_HOST" -->
    to enter the domain name on my holding page (in the print line).
    the file is index.shtml , not index.html for this to work.

    Ron
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    And you'll find that line and others you could use in this way, in the "Error Pages" section of cPanel.
     
  5. luckyhost

    luckyhost Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    Thaks for your responses!!!!

    Since I'm NOT a programmer, could you guys make it a little more clear and specific...like gibe me the "whole 9 yards" in layment terms???:confused:
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here's what I would do:

    1. Create your under construction page and make sure it works on a website. As this page will be copied to multiple pages, be sure to use absolute URLs for any images you use. For example, in your HTML editor, the image source (sometimes called an image URL) should begin with http:// and include the full address to the image. There are alternatives, but this results in the fewest issues that can arise.

    2. Once your page is completed, place it in your skeleton directory's public_html folder. Now, rename the file "404.shtml."


    This should work, since by default, cPanel will instruct Apache to attempt to use 404.shtml when a page is requested that does not yet exist. It's been a few years since I last did this - but from what I've seen, it should still work.
     
Loading...

Share This Page