Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Auto slave DNS update

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by viktor_smk, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. viktor_smk

    viktor_smk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hello!

    Currently I'm using 2 NS-servers (BIND). The first one (master) is on the cPanel-server, and the second one (slave) - on other remote host.
    I am looking for a way to configure my BIND slave (ns2) to automatically update itself with new zones that have been added/modified on the master (ns1) so that I do not need to manually update ns2 with new zone information. Can you give me some advice/link to article, where I can find the way to do that.

    Thanks a lot!
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you considered installing cPanel DNS-Only (a free product) on the remote server and creating a DNS Cluster between the two servers such that the cPanel/WHM machine (ns1) will push records to the DNS-Only machine (ns2)?
     
  3. viktor_smk

    viktor_smk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Thanks!

    But after I install Dns-only (with # sh cpanel-universal-dnsonly-install.sea), what exactly will this do on the server (I have other software on it, including standalone BIND). Will this overwrite something? What exactly will be installed and overwritten?
     
    #3 viktor_smk, Aug 21, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2008
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    DNS-Only installs a very stripped down of cPanel/WHM that only handles DNS synchronization. DNS-Only will not install any services such as BIND, Apache etc. DNS-Only will interface with your existing BIND installation to add/modify records from the remote server(s) in the DNS cluster as needed.
     
  5. viktor_smk

    viktor_smk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Code:
    cPanel Layer 1 Installer Starting.....
    Warning !!! Warning !!! WARNING !!! Warning !!! Warning
    -------------------------------------------------------
    cPanel requires a fresh/clean server!
    If you are serving websites off this server (and are
    not already running cPanel) this installer will
    overwrite all of your config files.  You should hit
    Ctrl+C NOW!!!
    If this is a new server please ignore this messages
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Warning !!! Warning !!! WARNING !!! Warning !!! Warning
    That output in the beginning of the installation scared me and I stopped it. Is there other way to set up the slave DNS to sync with the master?
     
    #5 viktor_smk, Aug 22, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice