The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto slave DNS update

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by viktor_smk, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. viktor_smk

    viktor_smk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello!

    Currently I'm using 2 NS-servers (BIND). The first one (master) is on the cPanel-server, and the second one (slave) - on other remote host.
    I am looking for a way to configure my BIND slave (ns2) to automatically update itself with new zones that have been added/modified on the master (ns1) so that I do not need to manually update ns2 with new zone information. Can you give me some advice/link to article, where I can find the way to do that.

    Thanks a lot!
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you considered installing cPanel DNS-Only (a free product) on the remote server and creating a DNS Cluster between the two servers such that the cPanel/WHM machine (ns1) will push records to the DNS-Only machine (ns2)?
     
  3. viktor_smk

    viktor_smk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks!

    But after I install Dns-only (with # sh cpanel-universal-dnsonly-install.sea), what exactly will this do on the server (I have other software on it, including standalone BIND). Will this overwrite something? What exactly will be installed and overwritten?
     
    #3 viktor_smk, Aug 21, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2008
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    DNS-Only installs a very stripped down of cPanel/WHM that only handles DNS synchronization. DNS-Only will not install any services such as BIND, Apache etc. DNS-Only will interface with your existing BIND installation to add/modify records from the remote server(s) in the DNS cluster as needed.
     
  5. viktor_smk

    viktor_smk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Code:
    cPanel Layer 1 Installer Starting.....
    Warning !!! Warning !!! WARNING !!! Warning !!! Warning
    -------------------------------------------------------
    cPanel requires a fresh/clean server!
    If you are serving websites off this server (and are
    not already running cPanel) this installer will
    overwrite all of your config files.  You should hit
    Ctrl+C NOW!!!
    If this is a new server please ignore this messages
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Warning !!! Warning !!! WARNING !!! Warning !!! Warning
    That output in the beginning of the installation scared me and I stopped it. Is there other way to set up the slave DNS to sync with the master?
     
    #5 viktor_smk, Aug 22, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page