The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto suspend

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ASTRAPI, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello

    I have a dedicated server with cPANEL and i want to ask if it's possible when i got my traffic limit before the end of the month 3tb to auto suspend my account as my provider can't do that and they will over charge me....

    Thank you
     
    #1 ASTRAPI, Jun 14, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2009
  2. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ops sorry i was edit my post.

    Can you give me more easy to follow details please ?
     
  3. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You just need to set the bandwidth limits on the user accounts low enough that
    they get suspended if they use up their portion of your bandwidth but that will
    only be checked once per day so if someone has a huge surge in bandwidth usage,
    they won't be suspended until the next check cycle.

    If you want to go a bit deeper, you can setup monitoring scripts to hook into
    the Cpanel API to suspend accounts to check activity more frequently than
    daily or check on other activities but for bandwidth itself, Cpanel is capable
    of doing that itself if you can live with the daily check limitation.

    WHM also has a menu option to unsuspend the user's who get suspended later

    If you are running up close to your total account bandwidth usage though,
    sounds like you have some very active sites or possibly someone doing
    something that they shouldn't be doing and might want to check that.
     
    #3 Spiral, Jun 14, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2009
  4. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I hace only one account there as i use it as dedicated and i am intresting on your first recomendation.

    Can you give more details wher e is that setting?

    Thank you
     
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Generally you can specify this when you create the account plan package.

    However, you can also go to "View Bandwidth Usage" under "Account Information"
    in WHM and you will get a list of all your web sites on the server and on that screen,
    there is an icon shown with each site under the "Limit" column and if you click that,
    you can set the bandwidth usage limit for each account.
     
  6. PlatinumServerM

    PlatinumServerM Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please note that when dealing with high volumes of bandwidth (ie, 1000's of gig's), it's quite common that the count in whm is not accurate. You may want to check with your datacenter to see if they have mrtg graphs that you can see for the most accurate count.
     
  7. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is very true! The stats shown in Cpanel is built only on web traffic for
    each account and doesn't take into account default IP traffic to or from the
    server not going to a specific site or any other services or processes that
    might be installed on your server outside of Cpanel also using traffic.

    However, setting the accounts to auto suspend is still not a bad idea but
    given what PlatinumServerM just pointed out (and I agree), you might want
    to set the limits on each account to something slightly lower than what
    they really need be set just as a margin of safety for yourself.

    Other than that, keep a close eye on your traffic reports, system logs,
    and provider server traffic information and you won't have any surprises
    and will know how much is being used and if you are getting close to
    your server bandwidth limits.
     
Loading...

Share This Page