The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Autodiscover domain / server name

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DotNetrix, Sep 23, 2013.

  1. DotNetrix

    DotNetrix Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I have turned on "autodiscover" in Tweak and it is currently set as:

    Host to publish in the SRV records for Outlook auto-discover support -> cpanelemaildiscovery.cpanel.net default

    My understanding is that this will let the client's mail client detect hostname.myserver.com with the correct settings.

    I would however like the auto-discover to to rather set it by default to mail.clientdomain.com

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You can modify the value configured under "Host to publish in the SRV records for Outlook autodiscover support." to your own custom value. Per the description of this option, if you have an SSL enabled host with a CA signed SSL certificate on this server and want to use it instead of the cPanel provided server, enter the FQDN that has a CA signed SSL certificate.

    Thank you.
     
  3. DotNetrix

    DotNetrix Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Michael,

    Thank you for that. My confusing is about the FQDN, can this only be for a host that has a CA signed certificate? most clients does not have an CA Certificate on mail.clientdomain

    It seems that we are stuck with something static like hostname.server.com instead of a dynamically changing FQDN like mail.clientdomain

    Regards,
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you use a self-signed certificate, a warning message may be presented to the users. A per-domain entry is not intended for use in the SRV record. More information on the overall usage of this feature is available in our documentation:

    AutoConfig and AutoDiscover

    Thank you.
     
  5. lorio

    lorio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If I get the documentation right. From 11.38 on you could choose for Outlook AutoDiscovery:

    1.) cpanelemaildiscovery.cpanel.net
    2.) cpanelemaildiscovery.yourwhmhost.tld
    3.) yourownAutoDiscoveryServer.somewhere.tld

    to get a Outlook client to get the right information.

    Let's say I have a a server e.g hostname.myserver.tld with a wildcard cert installed on all services and the apache.

    What way could I prevent that Outlook is asking for access to " cpanelemaildiscovery.cpanel.net" ?

    I currently have problems with AutoDiscover and AutoConfig. WHM 11.38.2 (build 7) CentOS6
    When you prevent nonSSL / plain auth the autoroutines seems to be not working correctly.
    Outlook 2010 and Thunderbird 24 under Windows 7x64

    I would be interested to get some feedback on working configs in the wild.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket if you want us to reproduce the actual issue you are experiencing. You can post the ticket number here and we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  7. lorio

    lorio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Since I have this on all installations I still think I am doing wrong.

    If autoconfig.domain.tld is entered into a browser a XML file should be sent.
    Correct?

    I got this:



    If I got it right, the common ports are:
    Secure POP3 - port 995
    Secure IMAP - port 993

    In the XML above I see POP3 and Port 993.
    To me this looks like the switch to offer POP3 instead of IMAP didn't switched the Port as well, right?

    I have opened a ticket for this: ID 4357125

    Is there a way to change these XML templates? E.g. add a <documentation url> tag?
     
    #7 lorio, Sep 27, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2013
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is an internal case open to address the issue where selecting POP3 as the preferred mail service for Autoconfig does not update the port. For reference, the case number is 75709. A resolution is scheduled for cPanel version 11.38.3.

    Thank you.
     
  9. lorio

    lorio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, I got the ticket update. Thanks.

    The question still open is what are the alternatives for the field
    "Host to publish in the SRV records for Outlook autodiscover support"

    1.) cpanelemaildiscovery.cpanel.net
    2.) cpanelemaildiscovery.yourwhmhost.tld
    3.) yourownAutoDiscoveryServer.somewhere.tld

    The help states "If you have an SSL enabled host with a CA signed SSL certificate on this server and want to use it instead of the cPanel provided server, enter the FQDN that has a CA signed SSL certificate here."

    Which would just mean you don't need a special subdomain but instead just use the FQDN of the server.
    If the server is called my.whmhostdomain.tld it would then serve the XML file to Outlook/Thunderbird?
    Let's say you have three servers (host1.mydoman.tld/host2.mydomain.tld/host3.mydomain.tld). Anything different?

    It shouldn't change a thing. Anyone got this working fine?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can enter any SSL enabled host with a CA signed SSL certificate on the server for this option. It does not have to be the hostname of the server, and there are no special naming requirements. If you specify a custom FQDN here, then a custom XML file would need to be created for it to work.

    Thank you.
     
  11. chrisnpg

    chrisnpg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Where would you create this custom XML file.
    I have a client that now has their own dedicated IP address and new SSL certificate. But when using the auto discovery it keeps pulling the default server's certificate 'hostname' and not the clients SSL.

    Forgive me if I'm being ignorant, when referring to putting in the FQDN in, is that in the DNS records?
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    More information on the XML file itself is available at:

    Microsoft - Autodiscover

    It's referring to the text box in "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Tweak Settings" associated with the following option:

    "Host to publish in the SRV records for Outlook autodiscover support."

    Thank you.
     
  13. lorio

    lorio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you won't create an account but use the hostname.domain.tld of the WHM, which is the main server with a wildcardcert I wonder what option you have to place a XML. chrisnpg might be asking for the path to place the XML if you use the mainserverdomain with wildcard (which might be already used for the other services whm,cpanel,webmail etc).

    Outlook 2010 is still not using the setting of hostname.whmserverdomain.tld and uses cpanelmaildiscovery.cpanel.net/autodiscover/autodiscover.xml. Outlook 2010 is then sending a warning. Cpanel 11.40.X is showing this behaviour.

    Still need to take a look at the debugging report from the microsoft service. If others want to test, you'll find the service here:
    https://testconnectivity.microsoft.com/

    Autoconfig with thunderbird is working fine (ignoring the POP3 bug till 11.38.3).
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recommend opening a support ticket so we can test this and determine if it's a bug or due to an issue with Outlook 2010 itself.

    Thank you.
     
  15. lorio

    lorio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for being still responsive about that issue.

    I still think I am missunderstanding something.

    Your old statement seems to be the key:
    I got the impression, that you can point to the domain of your own host with CA signed SSL without placing a selfcreated XML.
    I thought the XML file is also automatically created by WHM on the host to be used if you have a CA signed SSL in place.

    If I get it right, the rule is: If you don't want to use cpanelemaildiscovery.cpanel.net you will have to created your own XML accessible via a CA signed SSL Cert. Couldn't locate any Autodiscover.xml on the server.

    Is that correct? If yes, I wonder why there is no xml locally created by WHM to be uses via WHM Hostname. It isn't very uncommon to install a wildcard CA signed SSL for the Cpanel/WHM/Webmail/SMTP/POP3/IMAP services.
     
    #15 lorio, Oct 28, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2013
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To note, we have an internal case (#68169) open with our documentation team to provide more information and clarify the usage of this option. Here is some information from this case that may be helpful to you:

    System administrators can choose the host that is published in the SRV records. System administrators can change the default host if they have an SSL-enabled host with an SSL certificate signed by a Certificate Authority. System administrators who wish to use their own server for Outlook® AutoDiscovery may enter that server’s FQDN in the available text box.

    When you enable the _Host to publish in the SRV records for Outlook autodiscover support._ feature, the server that you specify is queried for the auto-discover settings. You must have a custom XML file for this feature to function properly.

    NOTE: For more information about how to use a custom XML file, visit:

    https://wiki.mozilla.org/Thunderbird:Autoconfiguration
    White Paper: Exchange 2007 Autodiscover Service

    Thank you.
     
  17. aleangelico

    aleangelico Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It took me almos 2 days to figure this out, finally with the help of David from KnownHost (where I have my VPS)

    As @Iorio says, you cannot change the field <hostname>wrongdomain.com</hostname> shown in http://autoconfig.myserver.com

    You have to go in WHM to Manage Service SSL Certificates and there Install a certificate (or use an installed one) for the domain you want to serve your email.

    After this the <hostname>rightdomain.com</hostname> shown in http://autoconfig.myserver.com will show the hostname of the installed certificate is for.

    This IS NOT in the documentation => https://documentation.cpanel.net/display/ALD/AutoConfig+and+AutoDiscover
    what is very confusing...
     
Loading...

Share This Page