The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

autodiscover with POP3 instead of IMAP

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by adatila, Mar 28, 2013.

  1. adatila

    adatila Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I' running cPanel 11.36.0.18.

    I have turned on the autodiscover feature that allows Outlook to automatically set up email accounts requiring only the email address and password. It works well; however, it configures the accounts as IMAP. I need it to configure the account as POP3.

    I couldn't find an option inside WHM or cPanel to prioritize POP3 or even use only POP3 for autodiscover. I asked the support team where I lease my "fully" managed server but they told me that it isn't possible without altering the code for cPanel itself; then, they reminded me that they "don't support" this.

    Q-1) Is there a way I can tell my cPanel to use POP3? (A way for us to select the preferences, within "Tweek Settings", for the autodicover.xml or SRV would be really useful).

    Q-2) If that is not currently supported, can that be added (really soon)?

    Q-3) If it can not be done thru the administration ui, how can I accomplish my goal of prioritizing POP3 over IMAP in for the autodiscover feature?

    Q-4) Should I use a custom XML and redirect Oulook to it? If so, how? (With htaccess, DNS, etc. and steps to do this please).

    Q-5) Should I edit the actual code (and add the changes after each update until this feature gets implemented)? If so, How can I successfully edit this script?

    Here is what I know (or think I know) so far:

    Researching this matter I have learned that Outlook reads an autodiscover.xml with the instructions or (at last) an SRV.

    The order in which the incoming server information is listed for each type (IMAP, POP3, etc) determines what is used. If the first type listed is POP3 and Outlook can successfully connect to it, then it will use that type; otherwise it moves to try the next one down, etc.

    More information about this can be found here Plan to automatically configure user accounts in Outlook 2010.

    After several attempts to configure a custom XML failed because it was never reached (maybe I need help redirecting the proxies correctly), I tried finding the script that produces the XML inside the server.

    When I open directly http://my_ip_here/cgi-sys/autoconfig.cgi it serves an XML with the right configuration but listing only IMAP.

    For autodiscover options, I don't want IMAP, I need POP3. (Just to be clear, I DO NOT want to disable the IMAP service, I just need Outlook to auto-configure using POP3).

    The XML displayed when opening the script directly (http://my_ip_here/cgi-sys/autoconfig.cgi) looks something like this:

    <clientConfig version="1.1">
    <emailProvider id="my_ip_here">
    <domain>my_ip_here</domain>
    <displayName>my_ip_here</displayName>
    <displayShortName>my_ip_here</displayShortName>
    <incomingServer type="imap">
    <hostname>my_hostname_here</hostname>
    <port>993</port>
    <socketType>SSL</socketType>
    <authentication>password-cleartext</authentication>
    <username>%EMAILADDRESS%</username>
    </incomingServer>
    <outgoingServer type="smtp">
    <hostname>my_hostname_here</hostname>
    <port>465</port>
    <socketType>SSL</socketType>
    <authentication>password-cleartext</authentication>
    <username>%EMAILADDRESS%</username>
    </outgoingServer>
    </emailProvider>
    </clientConfig>

    The tried to hard-code the 2 little changes I need in the script that serves the XML (/usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/autoconfig.cgi) as a temporary solution but, as you can imagine, this corrupts the script. (I edited using both a regular and a hex editor).

    I understand that if the XML served by the script would show POP3 instead of IMAP and port 995 instead of 993, Outlook will correctly configure the accounts using POP3.

    I feel that I'm so close and yet, I can't reach it. Please help!

    Than you in advance!
     
  2. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The auto discover system does not support letting you choose POP3. I'd recommend submitting this as a feature request to cPanel Feature Requests and if it gains significant support it will be considered for inclusion in a future version.
     
  3. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yep 95% of my clients use pop3 so cpanel autoconfigure is unsuitable for my use. I'll set it up manually...
    /http://moens.ch/2012/05/31/providing-email-client-autoconfiguration-information/
    Providing Email client autoconfiguration information – Everyday Geek
     
  4. adatila

    adatila Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you Michael!

    I'm following the steps but I noticed that for Outlook, the sample uses https://autodiscover... and the SRV record is to be done on a SSL domain (0 0 443 ssl.mailprovider.com). So this is more a request to confirm that we need to purchase and install another SSL than a question.

    We already have an SSL installed for our host subdomain (host.mydomain.net which we use for POP#, IMAP, and SMTP).

    Would you please confirm the following:

    1) We also need to purchase and install an SSL for autodiscover.mydomain.net
    2) We need to add an SRV FOR EACH DOMAIN that gets added to any cpanel (by us or a client)
    2.a) Since we are redirecting the autodiscover subdomain for all the domains to a single subdomain (mine: autodiscover.mydomain.net) we ONLY need ONE SSL (for may main autodiscover.mydomain.net)

    Thank you for your help!

    Dario.
     
  5. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I haven't installed this yet, in fact i'm debating whether its even worth installing.

    Most of my clients that have problems setting up email are using Mac Mail or iPhone - guess that says something about Apple users.

    People that use Outlook (90%) seem to have no problem setting up their email and very few use Thunderbird...

    The way i figure it you would use your hostname which should already have an SSL certificate. You would load the xml file into /usr/local/apache/htdocs/autodiscover/. You would need a .htaccess in that directory to force the xml through php.

    1. No your SRV record should redirect to https://hostname/autodiscover - no need to buy any extra certs
    2. You can do that in WHM zone templates - you can update existing zone by using the reset zone function in WHM (be careful)
    2a. You only need one cert - the one you already have on your hostname.

    As I said i haven't done this. It just seems very easy to do...
     
  6. adatila

    adatila Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, I got it working a few minutes ago (right before your response).

    I had figured out my own questions, except for the WHM zone templates (I'll try that).

    Thanks a lot for your help!

    Dario.
     
Loading...

Share This Page