Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Autodiscover

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by John Schmerold, Jul 24, 2017.

Tags:
  1. John Schmerold

    John Schmerold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    st. louis
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Auto discover insists on using %domain% for the imap & smtp server.

    How do we get it to use mail.%domain% ?

    I have read and fought with AutoConfig and Autodiscover - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation for hours, but I am no closer to solving this problem.

    I suspect the magic is in this line "information about how to use a custom XML file", but I have no idea where to put the XML file. It seems like I should be able to edit a file somewhere on the system, but I cannot find it.

    BTW, I found a script to help in the troubleshooting of this problem:
    automx/automx-test at master · sys4/automx · GitHub

    It sure beats putting test accounts in Outlook, Android, Thunderbird & iPhone, only to be told "you're a dummy this will never work"
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can browse to "WHM >> Tweak Settings" and enable the following option under the "Domains" tab:

    "Thunderbird and Outlook autodiscover and autoconfig support (enables proxy subdomain and SRV record creation)"

    This will automatically create autodiscover and autoconfig proxy subdomains as well as the autodiscover SRV records needed for Outlook and Thunderbird email auto configuration for local domains.

    Could you enable this option and let us know if the issue persists, or let us know if this option is already enabled?

    Thank you.
     
  3. John Schmerold

    John Schmerold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    st. louis
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Done - hours ago. That's what has been so frustrating, it seems that I have turned over every stone, twig and blade of grass.
    But it still does not work!
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look at your system to see what's happening.

    Thanks!
     
  5. John Schmerold

    John Schmerold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    st. louis
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you, Support Request ID is: 8742497
     
Loading...

Share This Page