Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Automatical Time Synchronization

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by laurs, Jun 2, 2005.

  1. laurs

    laurs Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Does CPanel synchronize the syste time automatically every minute or periodicaly?
    It causes my program occurs error when comparing the time.

    I usually use NTP service to synchronize system time.
    And I did not find any NTP instruction in the CRON jobs.

    Does any one have any idea about this?
     
  2. sHORTYWZ

    sHORTYWZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I could be wrong, but I'm fairly certain that cPanel has no time sync features.

    I use ntpd to automatically keep my clock synced up.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Actually, it is synced daily with the cPanel rdate server when the upcp job runs overnight.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. laurs

    laurs Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Taiwan
    How can I disable the daily time sync. of cPanel?

    What is the executable "/root/installd/checkrsyncrdate" used for?
    What if I delete or rename this executable?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That file is part of the original cPanel installation and not relevant - indeed, you should simply delete /root/installd as it's just taking up disk space and nothing more.

    No idea about disabling it, AFAICT there's no choice when upcp is run.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice