Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Automatically disabled backups that exceed predetermined limits

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by cwalke32477, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. cwalke32477

    cwalke32477 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would like to know if there is a way I can set cpbackup to skip accounts that exceed a
    size limit and/or inode limit.
    Any suggestions?

    edit-- I meant to put in automatically skip accounts, not the account selection tool
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. ModServ

    ModServ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could make it as a bash a script, But in cPanel there aren't any setting for that.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cwalke32477

    cwalke32477 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i would have no idea how to create such a script.
    Know of any pre-existing utilities that would do such a thing?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. ModServ

    ModServ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Steps will be an array holding all usernames, then check for its' spaces, after that doing an if condition that tells if the size greater then or equal a fixed size then

    PHP:
    touch /etc/cpbackup-userskip.conf
    echo $USERNAME >> /etc/cpbackup-userskip.conf
    Hope that helps you in some way.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. yakatz9

    yakatz9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    doable, but not sure how

    A host that I use does what you are looking for (if I understood correctly) but I do not have the details:

    Your account size (50762.41MB) exceeds our 3GB limit for using this feature. Please use an alternate method, such as FTP, for backing up your website
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice