Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Autorepair script to fix RHEL/CentOS sudo update (breaks resolver)

Discussion in 'cPanel Announcements' started by Infopro, Aug 9, 2012.

  1. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,517
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    cPanel has released an autorepair script to resolve a problem caused by a CentOS and Red Hat Enterprise Linux security update to sudo.

    If you are experiencing problems resolving domains, please take the following action from WHM or a root shell:

    To apply the fix from WHM:
    ==========================
    1. Login to WHM as root

    2. Manually append the following to the url:

    /scripts2/autofixer

    examples:
    https://[YOURSERVERHERE]:2087/scripts2/autofixer
    https://[YOURSERVERHERE]:2087/cpsess999999/scripts2/autofixer

    3. In the script name field, enter:

    nsswitch

    4. Click Submit

    To apply the fix from a root shell:
    ===================================
    /scripts/autorepair nsswitch
    # or for newer versions of cPanel
    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/autorepair nsswitch

    cPanel has assigned internal case number 60611 to track this problem.

    At this time, we believe only RHEL 5, and CentOS 5 are affected if /etc/nsswitch.conf contained a sudoers line prior to the sudo rpm being updated.

    For more information about this problem please see the CentOS and RedHat reports below:
    0005883: Post-install script for sudo sets /etc/nsswitch.conf to mode 600 - CentOS Bug Tracker
    https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=844420
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. nospa

    nospa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    So cPanel fixes OS specific bugs, as I see... So why we always hear that you can't fix Apache errors because they are OS related??
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,517
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice