The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AutoSSL and Proxy Subdomains

Discussion in 'Security' started by joako, Sep 11, 2016.

  1. joako

    joako Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Any plans to ever get the webmail, cpanel interface, mailman, etc properly secured? It's all been broken for quite a while.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    35,630
    Likes Received:
    1,136
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. joako

    joako Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    That feature says it doesn't work with proxy domains.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    35,630
    Likes Received:
    1,136
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, that's accurate. Support for AutoSSL with proxy subdomains is not available, but you can follow the progress on the feature requests referenced in the previous response.

    Thank you.
     
  5. joako

    joako Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    So what are you guys doing to have SSL working everywhere in Cpanel?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    35,630
    Likes Received:
    1,136
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. joako

    joako Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    35,630
    Likes Received:
    1,136
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    That's correct, however the use of port 443 in the URL is unnecessary.

    Thank you.
     
  9. joako

    joako Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    I'm having issues now working around the many hacks used before this bug was fixed prevent the "hackers are trying to steal your credit card errors" messages.

    How can I tell WHM to recreate the webmail proxy subdomains?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    35,630
    Likes Received:
    1,136
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Are you referring to the records in the DNS zones? If so, and if you are okay with replacing the proxy subdomain records (e.g. cpanel, whm, webmail) for all accounts on the system with the default entries, then you could use the following script:

    Code:
    # /scripts/proxydomains --help
    Usage:
        proxydomains [action] [options]
    
            Options:
              --help                          Brief help message
              --man                           Full help message
              --user=                         User to configure
              --domain=                       Domain to configure
              --subdomain=                    Proxy subdomain to manipulate
              --no_replace=0                  Enable replacment of existing records (currently
                                              only used for changing autodiscover hosts)
              --old_autodiscover_host=        The previously configured autodiscover host (used
                                              for matching old records and updating them to the
                                              new host)
              --force_autodiscover_support=1  Behave as if the autodiscover support has not been
                                              disabled even if it has. This is useful for
                                              removing the autodiscovery proxy subdomains after
                                              the support for them has been disabled.
              --ifenabled                     Only perform the operation if proxy subdomains
                                              are enabled.
    
            Actions:
              add          Create proxy subdomains
              remove       Remove proxy subdomains
    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page