AutoSSL failed to issue certificate

David Barter

Jul 26, 2019
USA
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I'm new to WHM/cpanel so excuse me if I'm doing something obviously wrong.

We're trying to migrate web sites to a new WHM server and the first site is failing to receive a certificate with AutoSSL. Here is the log output (hostname changed to example.com);
Code:
9:14:18 AM Analyzing “example.com” …

9:14:18 AM ERROR TLS Status: Defective

Certificate expiry: 7/8/20, 6:30 PM UTC (348.22 days from now)

ERROR Defect: OPENSSL_VERIFY: The certificate chain failed OpenSSL’s verification (0:18:DEPTH_ZERO_SELF_SIGNED_CERT).

9:14:18 AM Performing DCV (Domain Control Validation) …

9:14:42 AM WARN Local HTTP DCV error (example.com): “example.com” does not resolve to any IP addresses on the internet.

9:15:18 AM WARN Local HTTP DCV error (www.example.com): “www.example.com” does not resolve to any IP addresses on the internet.

9:15:54 AM WARN Local HTTP DCV error (mail.example.com): “mail.example.com” does not resolve to any IP addresses on the internet.

9:16:30 AM WARN Local HTTP DCV error (cpanel.example.com): “cpanel.example.com” does not resolve to any IP addresses on the internet.

9:17:06 AM WARN Local HTTP DCV error (webdisk.example.com): “webdisk.example.com” does not resolve to any IP addresses on the internet.

9:17:42 AM WARN Local HTTP DCV error (webmail.example.com): “webmail.example.com” does not resolve to any IP addresses on the internet.

9:18:06 AM ERROR Local DNS DCV error (example.com): The DNS query to “_cpanel-dcv-test-record.example.com” for the DCV challenge returned no “TXT” record that matches the value “_cpanel-dcv-test-record=bQwAmWFRlW60ZsYkiTdLMG2mScfscyaoo0KgbS86aa9aJOb10XFxl4f2yxV4sZhy”.