Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AutoSSL for CNAMEs?

Discussion in 'Security' started by BobSmith123, Oct 22, 2016.

Tags:
  1. BobSmith123

    BobSmith123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Two questions:

    a) Will AutoSSL generate SSLs for CNAME subdomains? For example, let's say my domain is example.com. I then setup a CNAME test.example.com that points to example.com but test.example.com is NOT setup as a subdomain for example.com in cPanel. Will AutoSSL still generate an SSL for test.example.com?

    b) Any chance of AutoSSL generating wildcard SSLs? This would solve the problem in (a) -- a wildcard SSL for *.example.com.
     
  2. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    a) are they just CNAMES or are they actual aliases or parked domains? If they're just CNAMES we won't try and get an autossl. If they're aliases we will.

    b) no but you can purchase a wildcard cert in v60.

    Thanks!
     
  3. BobSmith123

    BobSmith123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Okay, I'm trying to add it as an alias but get this error:

    There was an error when the system attempted to create the alias. Park::park(abc.xyz.com) failed: (XID 45p84c) Sorry, the domain is already pointed to an IP address that does not appear to use DNS servers associated with this server. Please transfer the domain to this servers nameservers or have your administrator add one of its nameservers to /etc/ips.remotedns and make the proper A entries on that remote nameserver.

    xyz.com is my main domain, and its DNS is via Cloudflare. What do I do?
     
  4. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Remove it from DNS first please.
     
  5. BobSmith123

    BobSmith123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    What do you mean remove it from DNS? Cloudflare is managing the DNS for this specific domain, how would I remove it from DNS? Is there any other way to tell cPanel of a subdomain as an alias for a domain?
     
  6. BobSmith123

    BobSmith123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Okay, figured out the solution to this problem. I just needed to add CloudFlare NS IPs to Configure Remote Service IPs in WHM.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page