Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

autossl parked domains

Discussion in 'Security' started by DaveDC, Jan 24, 2017.

Tags:
  1. DaveDC

    DaveDC Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Shrewsbury UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The Problem I have is that I have some certificates installed on a domain (the main server domain) but I recently parked a new domain on top of this and wondered if it was possible to get autossl to add the missing certificates which it doesn't seem to be doing.

    As an illustration without showing the actual domains I already have a certificate for
    maindomain.com
    www.maindomain.com
    and a separate one for the server itself
    server.maindomain.com

    but I have just parked another domain
    anotherdomain.com
    which has no certificate

    check domain on autossl gives

    8:44:14 PM This system has AutoSSL set to use “cPanel (powered by Comodo)”.
    8:44:14 PM Checking websites for “theusername” …
    8:44:14 PM This website’s SSL certificate lacks the following domains: antherdomain.com, www.antherdomain.com, mail.antherdomain.com, mail.maindomain.com. AutoSSL will not replace a certificate that an installed AutoSSL provider did not generate unless it expires within 3 days.
    8:44:14 PM All websites owned by “theusername” have valid SSL certificates.
    8:44:14 PM The system has completed the AutoSSL check for “theusername”.
    8:44:14 PM The system has finished checking 1 user.

    Am I right to think that AUTOSSL will under no circumstances add certificates for the missing domains?

    Thanks
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    You can issue certificate for the Addon domain from the autoSSL section. Check if the domain is listed there to have the AutoSSL generate it for you..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. DaveDC

    DaveDC Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Shrewsbury UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Unfortunately its not listed in addon manager. I originally added it as a parked domain in WHM.
    Would you suggest I unpark it in WHM and then add it as addon domain?
    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,895
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Was the existing SSL certificate installed on the primary domain name generated by the AutoSSL feature, or was it purchased from another certificate authority?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. DaveDC

    DaveDC Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Shrewsbury UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It was purchased from another provider before AutoSSL was activated on the server
    Thanks
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,895
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    You'd need to remove the domain names as aliases, and add them as addon domain names. This will create a separate virtual host for these domain names and allow the AutoSSL feature to issue them certificates. Otherwise, you could delete the existing SSL certificate to allow the AutoSSL feature to install certificates on the primary domain name and it's aliases (parked domains).

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. DaveDC

    DaveDC Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Shrewsbury UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks I will try that
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice