The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AWS - IP Address and DNS Settings on new accounts

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Mister9, Oct 1, 2015.

1. Mister9

Mister9 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi!
    I have another issue that I hope someone can help clarify for me. This one is bit detailed.

I have (hopefully) successfully set up Cpanel on AWS with clustering following the instructions: https://blog.cpanel.com/part-1-how-i-built-a-cpanel-hosting-environment-on-amazon-aws/

Before I set up this new Cpanel installation on AWS, I have been using CPanel/WHM on a dedicated server for a few years now. My issues comes from how new accounts are set up differently on a dedicated server vs this new AWS way.

My first issue:
    When I use to create a new account on my dedicated WHM, I was provided IP Addresses from the server farm that I was able to use on newly created accounts. Once assigned to a new account, I can access the site with either the IP or the domain name. Now with this new AWS way, there is no info in the tutorials about how I obtain new IP Addresses. I tried adding a new local IP like 10.0.0.30 (because it says it's in NAT mode and use local IP) and assigning this as a dedicated IP to the newly created accounts but I don't understand how anybody can access the site through that IP since its a local IP. So how do I access the domain through custom IP and domain like I did before? I must be missing something fundamental.

My second issue:
    On my dedicated WHM after I created a new account, I would typically go to DNS Functions -> Edit DNS Zone and edit the zone to customize my nameserver as so:

mynewdomain.com
    ns1.mynewdomain.com
    ns2.mynewdomain.com

anothersite.com
    ns1.anothersite.com
    ns2.anothersite.com

thirdsite.com