The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AWS + WHM + ROUTE 53 Works ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tiagomello, Jun 25, 2014.

  1. tiagomello

    tiagomello Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi guys,
    I have a server setup with WHM but wanted to move it to AWS, therefore, I am trying to configure it first on trial before moving. After I started facing this problems I found this tutorial from a cpanel blog:

    Part 1: How I Built a cPanel Hosting Environment on Amazon AWS | cPanel Blog
    Part 2: How I Built a cPanel Hosting Environment on Amazon AWS | cPanel Blog
    Part 3: How I Built a cPanel Hosting Environment on Amazon AWS | cPanel Blog

    However, those steps include the creation of a cPanel DNSONLY instance. On my configuration, I was using Route 53 (AWS Service) to serve as DNS. I was able to setup WHM and almost everything works, as it should be when I create a new cpanel account I am able to use the FTP Service, mail etc but I cannot access the webpage using the account domain if I try to access it I am redirected to the default cgi-sys page, the domain pings the proper ip since its configured on Route 53 but WHM doesn’t point it to the account.
    The server is properly configured to be a NAT server and I am able to verify it on Show or Delete Current IP Addresses but it also trys to map the public ip as it is a local IP (check screen shot) Erro AWS.jpg maybe that’s the problem?
    Thanks in advance for the support.
    Tiago
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,675
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    In Web Host Manager, under "List Accounts", does the IP address assigned to the account match the IP address the domain name is pointing to at it's DNS host? Note that you could try rebuilding the Apache configuration file:

    Code:
    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    Thank you.
     
  3. tiagomello

    tiagomello Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi there,

    Yes the ip there matches the is the same ip that i get when i try to ping the domain. Also the FTP account works if i try to access using the domain and the account user and pass. But when i try to access the webpage it doesn't work.

    I've tried to rebuild APACHE as you suggested and it didn't work. That was the output tho.
    info [rebuildhttpdconf] Missing IP for domain localhost.localdomain, using 172.31.19.124
    info [rebuildhttpdconf] Missing ServerName for domain localhost.localdomain, using localhost.localdomain
    info [rebuildhttpdconf] Missing port for domain localhost.localdomain, using 80
    info [rebuildhttpdconf] Missing user for domain localhost.localdomain, using nobody
    info [rebuildhttpdconf] Missing owner for domain localhost.localdomain, force lookup to root
    info [rebuildhttpdconf] Missing group for domain localhost.localdomain, using nobody
    Built /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf OK

    Thanks one again,
    Tiago
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,675
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.
     
  5. tiagomello

    tiagomello Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I´ve submitted a support ticket. Thanks for the support once again

    Your Request id is: 5161943
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,675
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, it looks like this issue was resolved after rebuilding the DNS configuration file via:

    Code:
    /scripts/rebuilddnsconfig
    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page