The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Awstats Bandwidth More Than Double?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wswd, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi guys,

    Tried doing a search on this, and the only thing I really found were problems that Awstats' bandwidth was far less than what was reported in cPanel/WHM.

    My case is exactly the opposite. The bandwidth usage for one site on our server is almost double what appears in cPanel/WHM. The WHM/cPanel reported usage is ~17GB, while Awstats reports ~34GB.

    It does appear to be happening on other sites as well, though not as much. One showing 244MB in cPanel, for instance, is showing ~350MB in Awstats.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nobody has seen this before?
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The cPanel-provided information is likely more accurate than the information provided by the statistics applications.

    Are these stats similar to the stats provided by other statistics applications (Webalizer, Analog)? If you are only running 1 stats app, that's okay as well.

    I'm just trying to determine if this can be attributed to stats programs interpreting bandwidth consumption differently than cPanel/WHM or if something's wrong with the stats generation.
     
  4. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Dave, and thank you much for the reply!

    You know, I thought that a week or two ago, AWStats was the only one that was off, but after looking tonight per your request, it looks like all the stats software is off, including Analog.

    WHM is reporting 21.8 gigs
    cPanel is reporting around 22 gigs
    AWStats is reporting 46.71 gigs
    Webalizer is reporting around 56 gigs
    Not sure how to get a monthly total out of the analog, but the 7 day figure is showing 37.23 gigs.


    We're reporting around 26 gigs at the switch, so cPanel and WHM do appear to be accurate. What would cause the stats programs to be off by so much...over double the actual bandwidth?
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Programs such as AWstats do their reporting by processing log files. Hence that is the first place to look when such programs report strange values.

    cPanel obtains its data at a 'lower' level, sometimes direct from the protocol interaction itself.
     
  6. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Kenneth!

    I honestly don't know where to begin with this though, as far as what log files are used by the different stats programs, etc. After that, I'm not sure I'd know what to look for. If the bandwidth was double, I'd obviously start by looking for duplicate entries, but since all the stats programs are reporting something completely different, I'm not sure I know where to begin.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The logs parsed are the Apache domlogs (/usr/local/apache/logs/domlogs) for the domain(s) in question. The parsed version should reside in ~/tmp/awstats (or webalizer, etc).
     
  8. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks! I'll have a look.
     
Loading...

Share This Page