The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Awstats -- How To Turn On

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by billmicke, Apr 1, 2002.

  1. billmicke

    billmicke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM News in CPanel says....

    Awstats now ready for use. Awstats must be turned on in /var/cpanel/cpanel.config before it will appear in your users cPanel. This makes use of the new &cpanelif& tag. (4.7.0 build 25 or later only)

    I have 4.7.0 build 30. How exactly do I turn this on in cpanel.config? Right now, it shows the following...

    #config ---------------------------------------
    product=Cpanel
    myname=cpaneld
    adminuser=cpanel
    basename=cpanel
    version=4.7
    root=/usr/local/cpanel
    engineroot=/usr/local/cpanel
    engine=cpanel
    enginepl=cpanel.pl
    cycle=1
    docroot=/usr/local/cpanel/base
    access_log=/usr/local/cpanel/logs/access_log
    stats_log=/usr/local/cpanel/logs/stats_log
    port=2082
    RS=default
    VALIASDIR=/etc/valiases
    VFILTERDIR=/etc/vfilters
    #config ---------------------------------------
    extracpus=0
    skipawstats=1

    I see where it says &skipawstats=1&. What should I do here?
     
  2. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I didn't try it however you could try 0 value (don't skip)
     
  3. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Yes changing it to 0 will turn it on. However I think you need to run upcp for it to create the config files.
     
  4. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I changed to skipawstats=0 and ran /scripts/upcp but it does not work correctly.

    I see the link now to it in the iconic theme but the page is not found error comes up when it tries to go to /stats/awstats.html becuase it does not exist there.

    It does however appear to be in the Bluelagoon theme. Which I have tagged in WHM to keep up to date. I don't think there was an option in there for iconic, since it was already installed.


    UPDATE:

    After changing to bluelagoon theme and clicking on the awstats.html I get this error.

    Error: Couldn't open config file &awstats.mydomain.com.conf& nor &awstats.conf& : No such file or directory

    Setup (Config file, web server or permissions) may be wrong.
    See AWStats documentation in 'docs' directory for informations on how to setup awstats.


    It's not creating the domain.conf file.
     
  5. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Yes that doesn't fix it. I just ran ./runweblogs and put in one of my domains and they were generated.
     
  6. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, that seemed to work for the Bluelagoon template but the iconic files were not generated, maybe because the user was not using it and was using Bluelagoon instead.
     
  7. billmicke

    billmicke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep. Same here. Bluelagoon template works, but not Iconic.
     
  8. ahwheelock

    ahwheelock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    running the logs makes it work.

    However, the html page isn't found in the iconic theme...only in the bluelagoon one. This would seem to be an omission in the theme updating, yes?
     
  9. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, they have used symlink to default theme in Bluelagoon for the page. I just copied it over to my custom theme and it works fine now.

    The Awstats is nice, I wish it was realtime though, some of the options like last visit does not show correctly because of this.

    I'm not sure if it would be wise to make it realtime due to server load but then how many people are viewing stats at one time anyways, not a big problem usually. Might be slow loading on big logs, need to look into this one further because it would be nice to have some realtime stats.
     
  10. decebal

    decebal Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Realtime

    I know awstats is a realtime log analyser but it has to bo configured.

    It only has to access the logs from /apache/domlogs directly and then it can be used in realtime. ;)
     
  11. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:c7ff60e091][i:c7ff60e091]Originally posted by Brad[/i:c7ff60e091]

    Yes, they have used symlink to default theme in Bluelagoon for the page. I just copied it over to my custom theme and it works fine now.

    The Awstats is nice, I wish it was realtime though, some of the options like last visit does not show correctly because of this.

    I'm not sure if it would be wise to make it realtime due to server load but then how many people are viewing stats at one time anyways, not a big problem usually. Might be slow loading on big logs, need to look into this one further because it would be nice to have some realtime stats.


    [/quote:c7ff60e091]


    In our tests it ate up way to much cpu unless you ran your logs ~4 times a day
     
  12. HOSTFORWEB

    HOSTFORWEB Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nick, when Iconic fix will be out???
     
  13. nitromax

    nitromax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The solution is easy...

    When I looked at the symlinks referred to earlier they just pointed to the awstats.html page in the default theme. When you look at the html code for that file it shows this:

    &html&
    &head&
    &META HTTP-EQUIV=&Refresh& CONTENT=&0;URL=&cpanel Stats=&awstats($CPDATA{'DNS'})&&&&
    &title&&/title&
    &/head&
    &body bgcolor=&#FFFFFF&&
    &/body&
    &/html&


    Just put that code in a blank page and save it as awstats.html, then upload it to the /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/iconic/stats/ directory, or your custom theme directory.
     
Loading...

Share This Page