The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

awstats just stopped working!?!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wowway1, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. wowway1

    wowway1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We've been using awstats successfully on our server for 2 years, this month is just ups and quits working. All the other stat packages work fine, but awstats stopped at the beginning of the month. How can I get it back to life?

    Thanks.
    :cool:
     
  2. vwiley1

    vwiley1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have the exact same problem.. I have over 100 domains on this server, and all of them except 1 have stopped updating awstats since Nov 6th, 2004. The only one who did not stop on Nov 6th has a day of zero's, at least once a week. I know this site gets about 2000 hits a day, so a zero day is not possible.

    And as of Dec 6th, the only one who still did get awstats updates (*sometimes*) stopped working completly as well.


    I checked under tweak settings to double check things. I noticed that I had delete logs after statistics are ran checked. I unchecked this about 48 hours ago, (I thought maybe the script which calls the stats programs was deleting the logs before awstats had it's chance). That WAS NOT the case though, AWSTATS just doesn't run on ANY of the 100 domain/accounts on my server.

    Any help woud be greatly appreciated.

    Vince


    ***NOTE*** I can manually update stats by clicking Update Now, I don't want to have to do this stuff manually though. Also I really DO want logs deleted each day, there are several high traffic sites which get 1000+ visitors a day, and even one who gets about 4000+ hits a day.
     
  3. vwiley1

    vwiley1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    UPDATE***

    AWSTATS is still NOT working but I found something out.

    When I run:
    /scripts/runweblogs username

    Here is the output I get.. Notice no mention of AWSTATS. Hope this can help someone help with my problem.

    Log checker loaded ok..
    ==> Loading Config (cpanellogd) .... Done
    Urchin webserver is not running
    Urchin scheduler is not running
    1
    ==> cpaneld(logger) 8.0 Starting (1 processor system).....
    ==> Shared RRDTOOL support enabled
    Processing vwiley1...
    [add subdomain] vwiley1 support.mydomain.com
    [add subdomain] vwiley1 support.mydomain.com
    Run Logs vwiley1,mydomain.com,629145600000,support.mydomain.com
    LANGUAGE: english /usr/local/cpanel/lang/.english
    Update status for /var/cpanel/bandwidth/vwiley1-http.rrd: (8)
    Processing exim stats for vwiley1.......Done
    Update status for /var/cpanel/bandwidth/vwiley1-all.rrd: (8)
    LANGUAGE: english /usr/local/cpanel/lang/.english
    WEBLANG english
    Archive Status: 0
    About to fork() [ALL DOMAINS: support.mydomain.com]
    Webalizer V2.01-10 (Linux 2.4.21-20.EL) English
    Using logfile /usr/local/apache/domlogs/mydomain.com (clf)
    DNS Lookup (10): Error: Unable to open DNS cache file /home/vwiley1/tmp/webalizer/dns_cache.db
    Creating output in /home/vwiley1/tmp/webalizer
    Hostname for reports is 'mydomain.com'
    Reading history file... webalizer.hist
    Reading previous run data.. webalizer.current
    Saving current run data... [12/11/2004 13:11:59]
    Generating report for December 2004
    Generating summary report
    Saving history information...
    663 records (507 ignored) in 0.07 seconds
    Webalizer V2.01-10 (Linux 2.4.21-20.EL) English
    Using logfile /usr/local/apache/domlogs/support.mydomain.com (clf)
    DNS Lookup (10): None to process
    Using DNS cache file /home/vwiley1/tmp/webalizer/dns_cache.db
    Creating output in /home/vwiley1/tmp/webalizer/support.mydomain.com
    Hostname for reports is 'support.mydomain.com'
    Reading history file... webalizer.hist
    Reading previous run data.. webalizer.current
    No valid records found!
    Webalizer V2.01-10 (Linux 2.4.21-20.EL) English
    Using logfile /usr/local/apache/domlogs/ftp.mydomain-ftp_log (ftp)
    DNS Lookup (10): None to process
    Using DNS cache file /home/vwiley1/tmp/webalizerftp/dns_cache.db
    Creating output in /home/vwiley1/tmp/webalizerftp
    Hostname for reports is 'ftp.mydomain.com'
    Reading history file... webalizer.hist
    Reading previous run data.. webalizer.current
    No valid records found!
    Complete
     
  4. vwiley1

    vwiley1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    MORE INFO

    Ok.. I have found that "/scripts/runweblogs username" calls an external script.

    The script it calls is: /usr/local/cpanel/cpanellogd

    I opened the script up in an editor and found this code:

    $statsloglevel = 1;

    #awstats is always off by default
    $skipanalog = 0;
    $skipwebalizer = 0;
    $skipawstats = 1;
    $keepstatslog = 0;


    I changed this to:

    $statsloglevel = 1;

    #awstats is always off by default
    $skipanalog = 0;
    $skipwebalizer = 0;
    $skipawstats = 0;
    $keepstatslog = 0;


    I ran Stats again and IT STILL DON"T WORK :(

    Thought I would post this though so those helping fix this can use this as a reference.

    Thanks,

    Vince
     
Loading...

Share This Page