The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Awstats Problem...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by evolution, Oct 6, 2003.

  1. evolution

    evolution Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    In other installations of Cpanel I've noticed that in the stats area they can access a script called 'Awstats'.

    However, on my server (which I upgraded to the latest version, minutes prior to writing this), it does not appear.

    I've tried this...

    http://www.[domain name]:2082/awstats.pl?config=[domain name]&lang=en

    And it comes up with this error...

    Error: Couldn't open config file "awstats.[domain].com.conf" nor "awstats.conf" after searching in path "./,/home/[username]/tmp/awstats/,/etc/opt/awstats,/etc/awstats,/etc,/usr/local/etc/awstats": No such file or directory

    Setup (Config file, web server or permissions) may be wrong.
    See AWStats documentation in 'docs' directory for informations on how to setup awstats.

    If possible can someone show me how to install this so it works and appears. I've thought about just setting it up manually, but I would like it so all my clients can access it, as in my opinion it's the best out there.

    Thanks in advance for any help.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. mjm2

    mjm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    rm -rf /
    did you enable awstats? default is off i believe....

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. evolution

    evolution Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Yes, I've just installed it now.

    Thanks for your help. (Completely forgot to look on that part in the WHM)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    just enabled awstats, but i get the same error, do i have to wait 24+ hours for stats or something?


    Error: Couldn't open config file "awstats.xx.com.conf" nor "awstats.conf" after searching in path "./,/home/xxx/tmp/awstats/,/etc/opt/awstats,/etc/awstats,/etc,/usr/local/etc/awstats": No such file or directory

    Setup (Config file, web server or permissions) may be wrong.
    See AWStats documentation in 'docs' directory for informations on how to setup awstats.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Jemshi

    Jemshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    try running /scripts/runlogs now. If that is also showing error, try

    /scripts/runweblogs for a particular user. It should make those files.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I received the same error, I haven't quite figured it out yet...you can copy the default awstats from the cpanel dir, and that'll work kinda, but stuff such as %DOMAIN% doesn't get filled in per user like it should.
     
  7. Jemshi

    Jemshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    yes, but the runweblogs script is supposed to copy that to the correct location with all the variables set in that.
     
  8. sreevishnu

    sreevishnu Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    india
    /scripts/runlogs worked for me. :)


    Sree
     
  9. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I tried this, and I got many errors. Now I see that all new users cannot use awstats, they are all getting errors. Previous users can use awstats just fine.

    awstats used to get installed for each user automatically. Hmmm... what is going on...

    - Scott
     
    #9 sneader, Apr 3, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2004
  10. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    as root, type:

    /scripts/runweblogs

    It'll ask you for a username, you input it..badda bing :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page