Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Awstats shows hosts not in raw access logs

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by galbaras, Jan 31, 2017.

Tags:
  1. galbaras

    galbaras Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In the past 3 months, I had a bandwidth usage increase, so I checked the list of hosts in Awstats and it showed the following at the top: broadband.actcorp.in (resolves to 208.91.197.205), sjn.httpint.globe.com.ph and tlc.httpint.globe.com.ph (cannot be resolved!).

    My hosting support and I suspect image hotlinking, so these hosts could appear either in the IP field or the referrer field of the respective access log, but I cannot find them by IP or name.

    How is it possible for Awstats to record many visits from a host and hundreds of megabytes of bandwidth without a match in the access log?

    Also, cPanel documentation claims that the cPanel/WHM bandwidth count is more accurate, and lower, than that reported by "log processing" programs, like Awstats, but I see the opposite, with the bandwidth count at 87GB (HTTP only) and Awstats only showing 82GB.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you verify which specific access log you are checking, and confirm the access logs include data for the time period utilized by Awstats in that bandwidth output?

    Thank you.
     
  3. galbaras

    galbaras Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I checked the archived log for January, which covers the entire month, so yes, confirmed.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  5. galbaras

    galbaras Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Alas, I'm on a shared server that I do not own. I'll see if my hosting provide will help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page